My mom once caught me walking home from middle school, splashing along the side of the road, umbrella swinging from my wrist. She’d gotten off early and decided to pick me up to save me some walking in the weather. But it was one of those warm Texas rains, and I was having fun. She wasn’t pleased with me.

You have to be careful, though, the moving water will pull a flip-flop or sandal right off.

I ran into this again, less voluntarily, at the cross walk on my college campus. Those roaring waters were usually too wide to jump over after anything more than a gentle drizzle. And the students driving to class laughed when they saw me chasing after my shoes.

I laughed when I saw the long lines as they circled endlessly for one of the few parking spots, so I guess it evens out.

In my poetry, I focus on imagery, use as little punctuation as I can get away with, rarely rhyme, and pare it down to a minimum. It’s not The Red Wheelbarrow, but poems like that helped shape my current style. Working with a set rhyme scheme and meter makes me feel crazy, so it’s for the best.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

Detour

I will float my umbrella on the curb rivers

and chase after it splashingly

catch it before it escapes

into a ditch

or stalls against a corner

upend it over my head so it pours

clean cold laughter

down on my upturned face

and then return to the rules

of roof and wall

change into dry clothes so no one can tell

I ever left

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

One response »

  1. […] I’ve talked about this topic before, from a slightly different angle. But it’s been raining a lot where I am, so […]

What are your thoughts?

