I like to paint, but I have a hard time justifying painting for no reason. What do you do with it after you’re done? I don’t usually want the paintings, but it’d be a waste to throw it away. Sometimes I think of a painting-gift that’s within my skill level and will be enjoyed by whomever I’m giving it to, and then I’m pretty happy for a while.

Do you ever get seized by the urge to create something? Do you start off with a plan, or do you wing it?

*   *    *     *    *    *

Maybe Something Green

Stare at the blank canvas page

trying to make my brain engage

find something

inside me to express

Bottles of paint cluster expectantly

near a scattering of brushes

an empty palette

I tap the cool wood handle of a brush

wondering if I should

just pick a color

apply it to the white expanse

But my skull’s a cage

nothing escapes

but paces back and forth behind bars

It’s no good

I need to gauge

the usefulness

of what I might create

No art for art’s sake

Perhaps I could pick a possibility

and see where it goes?

Choices

choices

Maybe something green?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

