Yesterday was Memorial Day, a day we honor the sacrifices of the United States Armed Forces. Even if no one you know – a parent, spouse, sibling, child, (or other family) or friend – has ever even served, everyone is affected.

When I was in high school, my (Air Force) mom was going to be sent overseas to Iraq. Even though she was headed for an office building, I was worried, and glad when she didn’t end up going. Somebody else did, and that someone (like all the someone’s anywhere) had people who didn’t want them to go, that wanted them to come back safely.

In a perfect world, people wouldn’t have to die in war. In a perfect world, we could die of old age, peacefully in our sleep. Because we could all be kind to each other, everyone would have enough and no one would take what other people had. (I’m excluding any aliens (or any other external control) forcing everyone to behave. That isn’t perfect, it’s a horror story.)

But this isn’t a perfect world. It is, however, the one we’ve got. And it can be pretty wonderful. That people will embrace something dangerous but necessary for the protection of others is a kind of bravery I’m not sure I have. But I certainly respect them for it.

So thank you for yesterday. And today. And tomorrow.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

