Why doesn’t anyone stay through the end credits of a movie anymore? Where are you all going in such a hurry?

I stay until the bitter end, watching the theater empty around me and hoping I’m not getting in the way of the people cleaning up afterwards. I like to read people’s names in the credits, finding the unusual or hunting for mine. I try to decipher the peculiar job titles. I saw Brave (funny, made me tear up once), and they had a list of production babies–babies born while the movie’s in production. Production babies, imagine that!

And lots of times there are images with the credits to keep your attention. Like drawings based on the movie, characters moving around, that kind of thing. Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter (violent, pretty true to the book) had special animation paired with the end credits. The imagery looked like it took some effort to me, and was kinda nifty. And creepy–appropriate, but creepy.

And every once and awhile, there’s something at the very end. A little clip, another end to the story. No, you don’t usually have to see it to understand everything important about the movie. It’s a hint of the future you’ll see if you watch the next movie anyway, or a little funny something extra.

Not important, but I still want to see it, you know?

Maybe it’s the completionist in me. I still have a hard time putting a book down once I’ve started reading it. Some books I take a little while to warm up to, and afterward I’m glad I kept going. But it’s mostly the I-must-know-how-it-ends issue. I can abandon a series that doesn’t speak to me (sometimes), but a book has to really bore or disturb me for me to put it down and walk away.

Do you stay to the very end? Or do you leave early, to try to beat the crowds?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. LadyGrave says:

    I always stay for the credits unless I didn’t really enjoy the movie. I consider it a matter of respect; if I enjoyed the film that these people labored on, the least I can do is wait a few minutes to watch their names scroll by. My father first introduced me to the concept of staying for the credits when The Fellowship of the Ring came out, and now I’m pretty militant about it. I don’t even feel apologetic to the people cleaning up anymore; I paid for it, and I’m allowed to stay! (I do thank the clean-up people nicely as I leave, however, because you know none of those children who spilled popcorn all over the floor ever will.)

  2. I stay to the end of lots of movies, especially Pixar ones (I have yet to see Brave though) because they always go to extra effort to make the credits interesting. Plus in a lot of intended-blockbuster movies they put an extra scene/sequel hook at the end that will leave you a bit confused in the next movie if you haven’t seen it (case in point, Pirates of the Carribean. I had no idea why the monkey was still there in the second film). And anyway, sometimes it’s just nice to listen to the soundtrack…

  3. letizia says:

    It depends on the movie (and who I go to the movie with) but, in terms of books, I agree with you, sometimes it’s so hard to part with a good book. I sometimes find myself rereading the beginning just because I’m not ready to part with it yet 🙂

  4. Josh says:

    I usually stay (sometimes to the chagrin of others in my party). I love the stingers! They’ve gotten more prevalent lately, which makes me happy. It’s actually gotten to the point where I’m disappointed if there isn’t a little clip afterward.

    The respect bit makes sense, although I’ve never thought of it that way before!

    • caitlinstern says:

      My usual movie friends are used to my habit. Everyone else figures it out when the rest of the theater stands en masse and I remain seated. And you also avoid the line of people shuffling out. Really, we’re smart people! 🙂

  5. bellesogni says:

    I stay to the end and the cleaning crew always looks like, “What ‘r ya nuts?” But just like you wrote, you can learn and see a lot of interesing things in the credits, and after they stop sometimes too. Plus, I feel that all those people who contributed to the movie deserve to have me watch their names scroll on the screen. I hate it on TV they move them so fast or insert a commercial either halfway covering them, or squishing them to the side.

    Once I wrote a letter to the head of TBS bawling them out for cutting short the movie “The Bodyguard”. For me, hearing Houston sing “I Will Always Love You” is like the whipped cream on pumpkin pie. Don’t serve it to me without it!

    So roll on credits. I’ll watch.

    • caitlinstern says:

      People are always in such a rush, aren’t they? I think that’s why there’s something to watching a DVD instead–bonus materials, and you can pause/ rewind. And the popcorn’s cheaper.

What are your thoughts?

