This idea comes from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader and The Captive Reader, and reminded me of something I already knew–I have far too many library books.

Generally, I aim for somewhere under 20 books. When I’m over that limit, I try to return more books than I check out until I’m under again. But I put a lot of books on hold, and there’s no predicting exactly when you get them. I returned four books yesterday and picked up six. That’s progress, but not in the right direction…

My usual method is to pick up my books on hold in small groups, so I can stay ahead of the due dates. Some of these books are due soon (tomorrow, the day after, next week…) and some are due in three weeks.

I have this under control. Mostly.

Books found either through book-review bloggers, stuff that looked interesting on Goodreads, or sequels to books I’ve already read. There’s thirty-something more books on a list that I want to get and haven’t put on hold (yet). This is my version of self-control.

How many books at a time do you get from the library? Do you browse the stacks, or make hold requests? How do you organize your library trips and library books?

Here’s my current haul:

1. Blue-blooded Vamp; Jaye Wells

2. The Blue Castle; L.M. Montgomery

3. Blood Secrets; Jeannie Holmes

4. Clementine; Cherie Priest

5. Code Name Verity; Elizabeth Wein

6. Dead Reckoning; Mercedes Lackey

7. Death Most Definite; Trent Jamieson

8. The Graphic Canon, vol. 1; ed. Russ Kick

9. The Hour of Dust and Ashes; Kelly Gay

10. The Kingdom Beyond the Waves; Stephen Hunt

11. The Long Earth; Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter

12. Magic without Mercy; Devon Monk

13. The Maze Runner; James Dashner

14. The Mongoliad; Erik Bear et al.

15. Neuromancer; William Gibson

16. Nocturnal: a Novel; Scott Sigler

17. The Complete Persepolis; Marjane Satrapi

18. The Rise of the Iron Moon; Stephen Hunt

19. A Rising Thunder; David Weber

20. Rouge; Rachel Vincent

21. Shadows Fall; Simon R. Green

22. The Sheriff of Yrnameer; Michael Rubens

23. Silence; Michelle Sagara

24. Swamplandia!; Karen Russell

25. Unorthodox: the Scandalous Rejection of my Hasidic Roots; Deborah Feldman

26. A Visit from the Goon Squad; Jennifer Egan

27. Wicked Business; Janet Evanovich

28. Wild: from Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail; Cheryl Strayed

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

  1. Marg says:

    We can have up to 60 items out at any one time and 20 items on request. I am always juggling to try and keep the library stack under control but it is a losing battle.

    Enjoy your loot!

What are your thoughts?

