Back at the shelter again, I walked a few more dogs–the same wiggly happy little black dog with one ear up and one ear down, which I can’t help but find adorable, and the other of the two bouncy ball brown chihuahua mixes (I walked the hyper one this time, and got dusty paw prints all over my pants, because dogs know I’m a pushover.)

I also walked a medium-sized brown dog that was heart-worm positive, so couldn’t go off her leash, but she was so much more mellow than her kennel mate she didn’t seem to mind. (Her kennel mate made an honest attempt to strangle her by leash, or trip me.) And then a black, brown, and tan dog who was incredibly hyper and bafflingly named after a  (male) Greek hero, despite being female.

I suppose it’s no stranger than some of the other names…but… Well, it’s just weird. It makes me wonder why someone picked that name for that dog.

There has to be some kind of reason, right?

And when I went to hang out with the kitties, I was useful. Not that socializing the cats isn’t useful, but you can do that without being a volunteer.

I cleaned out some litter boxes. They have disposable cardboard ones for the cats, but use plastic ones for the kittens. Otherwise, the kittens will chew on and eat their litter boxes. Not sure how that’s fun or tasty. But kittens are made of cuteness, not brains.

Also, I answered questions about the adoption process, and transferred two adorable kittens to two different rooms. One of the families decided to adopt their kitten.

The adopted kitten is an orange-and-white boy, a bit like Beth.

So, even though anyone could have handed off that kitten, I helped! Really, he sold himself on his cuteness–he was cuddly and friendly, purring as soon as I picked him up. He was so adorable, I gave him an extra cuddle before I put him back.

I hope he enjoys his new home.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I’m so glad you are enjoying your time at the shelter and are doing things that are useful for the animals. I would have the hardest time in the world not bringing home a new pet every time I went. I’m getting better, though. This summer has seen a rash of extremely high vet bills which has finally made a dent in my tiny brain. I’m understanding why we can’t really afford 6 animals these days. So I’ve made the decision to not replace every cat of ours who shuffles off to the Great Litter Box in the sky. And I know that when our dogs have passed on, I won’t be getting any more. Dogs are a lot of work, and I’ll be of an age by the time our two live out their normal life span that I won’t want to train any more of them. We’re aiming towards slowly becoming a 2 cat household at some point in the next ten years. Two cats will be plenty by then. But in the meantime, we’re loving them all with reckless abandon.

    You have inspired me to think of becoming a shelter volunteer at some point. Great post!

What are your thoughts?

