There’s a bunch of thoughtless, insane, or just plain mean things people do when they’re driving. You know what I’m talking about. You’ve seen the madness if you go on the roads at all.

This doesn’t mean ‘slow down,’ people. Stop the madness!

I live on a corner, so there’s a stop sign right next to my driveway. Sometimes, when I’m headed towards my house from around the corner, facing the stop sign at a right angle, there will be a car stopped at the stop sign.

They nearly always try to insist on me going first. They’ll sit, parked at the sign–in front of the driveway I want to pull into–and wait for me to get out of their way. To be fair, they expect me to turn and continue down the street. There’s plenty of places I could be going to other than my house.

Because I know that, I gesture politely. “After you.”

Sometimes, they drive away, and I can park easily.

Other times, (This happens a fair degree of the time, certainly more than half. I don’t know why.) they wave back at me and shake their head. “No, you go.”

I gesture again, a little more forcefully. “No, you go. I insist.”

They give me an exasperated look, unmoving. “What’s wrong with you? Go!”

I was recently involved with this dance. I could see the driver and the passenger discussing my behavior, and they were not going to move. After some slightly difficult maneuvering behind their car, I was in my spot, and they finally drove off. No idea what they were thinking, but I hope they felt a little ashamed for being so incredibly unhelpful.

Have you ever experienced an odd driving issue? Not the standard ones, like people who refuse to merge, or don’t signal, or tailgate, but something that makes you wonder ‘what are you thinking?’

My strangest ‘what are you thinking’ moment happened on a two-lane highway, where someone from oncoming traffic was attempting to pass a line of cars. (Not recommended.) Seeing me approaching in the same lane they were driving in, but unable to drop back into their lane, they pulled over into my breakdown lane, kept driving, and then moved back over after they’d passed all the cars in their lane.

All of this was done without slowing down, as I observed with amazement in my rear view mirror.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

5 responses »

  1. I was on the freeway today and I saw someone signal to get into the other side of THE LANE THEY WERE ALREADY IN. The only reason I could see that being justified is that we were on a curve. They were in the far right side of the far right lane, signaled left, and got into the left side of the far right lane. I didn’t know whether to laugh at their clumsiness or praise their unwavering honesty.

    So I did both.

  2. I found this incredibly funny. I think I’d have to move.

What are your thoughts?

