Arachnophobia. There is no rolled up newspaper in the world large enough…

Part two of my short poems on some of the cooler-sounding phobias. Click here for Part 1. What they are is listed at the bottom.

*     *     *    *

Tonitrophobia

Out of the sky

with a pelt of rain and lightning claws

and rolling echoing growl

prowling from the horizon

drawing closer

*     *     *    *

Xyrophobia 

Sharp silver shine

glinting with edged threat

designed to split hairs

in despair

used for purposes

dark and red

*     *      *      *

Everyone’s afraid of something. Even the people who say they have no fears at all. Some are big fears, others are small and easy to overcome. Some you wear down as time passes, others build up and wrap tighter around you.

When I was a kid, I was absolutely terrified of needles. Now, I try not to dwell on or look at the needle and I’m fine. It doesn’t really hurt all that much, and I couldn’t say why I find needles threatening. I just do.

How do you deal with your fears?

*     *      *      *

Meaning: Fear of thunder, razors.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

8 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Run screaming into the night? It’s always a good choice. On airplanes…I fall to my knees in the aisle at the first sign of turbulence, shrieking, “We’re all going to DIIIIIIIE!!” I’ve found they bring you free drinks after that. *grin* As for giant spiders…or even small ones…outside, I’ve learned to leave them alone. Inside, they are history. A 55-gallon drum of Raid is a handy thing to have around.

    Lovely work, Caitlin. Can’t wait for some spare time to poke around your blog a bit more.

    • caitlinstern says:

      That picture was part of an outdoor art display. Enormous wooden bugs of all kinds, some a little more disturbing than others.
      I’m okay with real, little spiders, but the bigger they get the more I worry about them coming after me…

      • Marcia says:

        Anything with EIGHT hairy legs can’t be good! (As my ex used to say, “I guess that pretty much rules out group sex, huh?”)

        • caitlinstern says:

          I used to like frogs, snakes, and bugs when I was a kid–including tarantulas because they’re fuzzy. I got to hold one on a field trip, but I’d just been warned that if you drop a tarantula you’ll kill it. So I was terrified I was going to drop this spider…

          • Marcia says:

            I STILL like frogs and snakes, and most insects, too. Especially snakes. I love all the wildlife in my garden. Except the spiders. Those I tolerate, but they can’t cross that line and come inside. At that point, we are likelyi to have a serious disagreement that usually doesn’t end well for them, unless my husband is around to intervene on their behalf. And even as a child, I would NEVER have held a tarantula. I bow to your superior courage!

          • caitlinstern says:

            Its eight fuzzy feet tickled my arm–I thought it was awesome. But I was the only girl in my group willing to hold it or the 10 lb python. I wonder if those kinds of fears are natural, or learned?

          • Marcia says:

            I read once that babies are born with only two innate fears: loud noises and the sensation of falling. They will exhibit a “startle” response to both of those. They say everything else is learned. Interesting, isn’t it, what we teach our children to fear? Well, us and experience, of course. If that spider bites his nose, I reckon he’ll have some fear at that point, whether anyone tells him to or not.

  2. […] 1 and Part 2 of my phobia poems are here, and what the phobias mean is listed at the […]

What are your thoughts?

