Previously, I’ve mentioned my bookmark collection. Most of the things I collect are useful in some fashion. I have a weakness for journals and notepads, pens and pencils, folders, and other writing-related things. And books, of course.

I’m always looking for something interesting. I have more bookmarks than one person really needs (Usually, I read 2 books at once, sometimes 3, hardly ever more than 4.) but at least they don’t take up much space.

Some of my metal (and enameled metal) bookmarks.

The points on this feather bookmark are kinda sharp, but I love the shape of it. Who says bookmarks have to be rectangular? The cat is the only page clip bookmark I have, because I dislike that style, and I use it like a regular bookmark anyway. But it’s heavy, and sometimes escapes my books, so I mostly use it for bigger books that don’t travel with me. The stamped bookmark has a bunch of straight lines impressed in it, creating a cool look and interesting texture.

More metal bookmarks, one with cardboard backing.

The first is from Frank Loyd Wright’s Taliesin, and is one of his designs, the name of which I don’t remember. The second is punched with one of my star signs–I also have another with my other sign on it. I really like the leaf pattern on the embossed metal bookmark.

Wood and magnetic bookmarks.

I have two more  inlaid wood bookmarks other than these, I just love all the patterns people can put into such a small space. They’re made with wood scraps, and are light and fit nicely in a paperback. I found these magnetic closure ones, which sometimes fight with me, but they’re especially useful if you want to mark several places in one book.

Ribbon and string bookmarks.

This ribbon bookmark was handmade, and long enough for even a hefty hardback. Unfortunately, this adorable wood cat bookmark only fits in standard-sized paperbacks, but I just couldn’t resist the tiny painted face and bi-colored ears. Generally, I don’t like these hook bookmarks for the same reason as the page-clip ones–they tend to escape. But I liked the feather shape, and it gave me an excuse to use these metallic backed multi-color glass beads. (You can’t tell from my picture, but they have little shapes inside the clear glass–circles, squares, a heart…)

I love using these bookmarks, because I like looking at them, and there’s nothing wrong with something that makes you happy to look at. They’re sturdier than the paper ones you get free at bookstores and libraries, too.

What do you like to collect? Do you judge items on their appearance or usefulness?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. Abby says:

    I don’t buy bookmarks because I have a tendency to lose them, but I do buy a LOT of highlighters, pens, markers, notepads, stationery, etc. I have a weakness for office supplies.

    Btw, I happened to see these really cool bookmarks on tumblr the other day. You might want to check them out. http://www.bookspaperscissors.com/post/30333792082/handmade-bookmarks-by-olena-mysnyk-of-mybookmark

    • caitlinstern says:

      I used to lose bookmarks all the time. But after I started getting ones I cared about, I do a lot better. I just have to remember to check the library books before I return them…

  2. letizia says:

    I love your cat bookmark – so lovely!

What are your thoughts?

