Four years ago, I got a Kindle DX for a graduation present, and I loved it. I’d asked for it over the other options because I’m a quick reader, and I figured pushing the page turn button would get very tiring on the smaller screen.

Perhaps it would have, but I also discovered that the DX was too big to fit comfortably in my purses. (I don’t carry the kind you could smuggle a small child in, because I’d lose things in there, and possibly capsize from being off-balance.) I’ve mastered the art of clamping a book between my upper arm and my side, leaving me two hands free–though only half the reach with one arm. This worked just as well for my Kindle, but it’s still awkward.

The DX is also a little heavy (more than twice the weight of the smaller Kindles)–nothing on the heft of a large hardback book, but enough to feel weighty after a while. I carry a book/Kindle everywhere, reading in lines or other lulls, so the minor inconveniences added up.

Then Amazon came out with the Fire and the Touch, so I spent some time debating whether I wanted one, and which one to get. It finally came down to the e-ink screen. Though I would have liked them, I didn’t need movies or color.

Kindle Touch and DX in their covers, with a paperback for scale.

So I got the Touch and I love it, except for one thing. (I know, I’m so demanding, aren’t I?)

All my old e-books ended up automatically in the archives–nearly 300 of them. Some of these are free books I read and then discarded to the archives. Some are free books I liked and kept–but I don’t I know which is which. So I need to open up both Kindles, put them side by side, and one at a time, download the books I decided to keep on my DX into my new Kindle.

I’ve had it for months and been unable to motivate myself to do so. I moved about half of the 300, based on authors and titles I knew were keepers, and sorted them into collections. The process is tedious–click on the archive, select the search box, type in the title, hit search, wait, tap the book to download, wait, and then sort into a collection–and repeat.

But I’ll get it done… Hopefully, this post will help shame/motivate me into it.

How did you decide on your e-reader, if you have one? Have you upgraded since your first purchase?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

