I have a small problem–almost 100 books (okay, I admit, I counted, it’s 97) on a list titled ‘books to read.’ At one point not too long ago–perhaps a couple of months–this list was a manageable length. Maybe a dozen titles, tops.

But I kept finding more books (on blogs, Goodreads, Amazon, etc.) that looked interesting. I stopped looking at my Goodreads recommendation page somewhere around 50. If I can stop finding new books that look so fascinating that I must read them, I could catch up. (Or stop finding a book series or seven that’s already 4 or 5 books in, so I must read  them all. That really isn’t helping.)

I’ve been whittling down the list, picking up several books from the library at a time. I’m trying to keep my total number of books checked out under 20. Because I’ve had as many as 40, which is when I realized that there is such a thing as too many books. Or at least too many books to read in a 3 week period, especially if you can’t renew some of them.

A step in the right direction…

Do you keep a to-read list? How many books do you have on it? Do you keep it in some kind of order?

I’m not particularly organized–I add books to the bottom of my list, and delete them when I check them out. I choose titles in a random fashion, trying not to pick too many of the same genre. Sometimes randomness thwarts me and I have several books about women rebelling against oppressive backgrounds, a bunch of science fiction, or a horde of books about the undead. (Braaiinnss!)

The list is nice in that I don’t have to worry about running out of things to read, but let’s be honest. I can go to the library and peruse the shelves and come out with three weeks worth of books without this list. So many books, so little time, is a popular book-lover’s complaint.

Soon, I promise, staring longingly at my to-read list, I’ll read you soon. (Yes, I admit I check the list a little too often. I want to read them all. Now. Such a feat isn’t even remotely possible, though.)

And I just found two more series that look interesting. Now my list is 104 books long. Sigh. You just can’t win.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

6 responses »

  1. melonyslife says:

    Hey, I read about a couple of books a month. According to my book club selection, and how good the book is, sometimes I can get through 4 books a month. I am hooked on Goodreads. I have read about 164and reading one. I admire that you can read so many a week.

  2. letizia says:

    It’s so true, the list of books to be read does seem to get longer and longer! But that’s one of the joys of reading, isn’t it? There are always more wonderful books to read! Great post 🙂

  3. Hah. ONLY a hundred on your to-read list? I dream of the days when I had a to-read list of only a hundred books. My to-read list stands at 873. Not counting non-fiction.

    But hey… relax and go with the flow. That’s what I do; it’s like painting the Forth Bridge – a task that is never going to finish – so we might as well relax, enjoy the ride, and pretend we planned it that way all along. After all, to have no more new books to read would be a terrible, terrible thing to be avoided at all costs, would it not?

    (And I liked the dog picture too.)

    • caitlinstern says:

      I’m quirky about lists. They get too long, and I start discarding things like they’re an over-stuffed suitcase. After all, I keep finding new books to read, so I know I’ll never finish the list. But there’s no point in keeping track of more books than I can reasonably get near completing, is there?

What are your thoughts?

