I saw an example of a prank to play on your friends: change your birthday date on Facebook and see which of your friends get it wrong. Personally, I hate practical jokes. I just don’t find purposefully inflicting (admittedly usually minor) suffering on a friend funny.

And let’s be honest–how many birthdays can you remember? How many people do you like well enough to want to say, ‘hey, I’m glad you were born?’

If these numbers are the same, you either have a better memory than me (congrats) or very few people you like.

My memory seems to top out at four. My birthday and three other family members’ birthdays fall one month after the other, and the numbers are even the same for two, the third a number before. Coincidence, of course. But just as when any number I have to memorize is simple, I find it a  kind coincidence. Like when a car pulls out of a parking space right while you’re looking for a spot.

Before Facebook, I’d write these reminders of birthdays down somewhere, and probably forget anyway. Back then, someone else wishing your friend a happy birthday in front of you was the equivalent of the Fb reminder. And you’d say, ‘oh, hey, it’s your birthday? Happy birthday!’

So don’t be changing your birthday announcement. It’s not funny. And if I forget your birthday, I apologize, but there’s only so much room in my brain for numbers. Words fit in there so much better. Like Pride and Prejudice quotes.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

