What qualifies you for ownership of a pet?

If you take it home from a shelter/pet store/ side of the road?

If you’re the one who feeds, cleans up after, entertains it?

Or does the pet decide?

My mom picked an adorable shelter cat, who’s energetic, talkative, curious, and clumsy. (She goes running around the house and sometimes fails to brake and smacks into walls. Once or twice could be forgiven for exuberance, but she’s been doing it for months now.)

But I’m cute!

Not my cat, but she seems to feel otherwise. She stalks me (in a non-creepy, non-predatory fashion). I open the door in the morning, and I hear a meow, a thud, and a jingle as she jumps down from wherever she was perched and comes running to greet me. She’ll curl up near me, and demand attention by climbing between me and my laptop/book/whatever, and flopping on her side and purring loudly.

If I don’t respond–say I’m taking a nap–the purring evolves into delicately patting at my arms, torso, and face in a demand for attention.

*     *     *     *

The human isn’t petting me! Is she dead? Poke her in the nose!

*Poke*

She twitched! Do it again!

*     *      *     *

This cat also follows me nearly every time I leave a room, jingling inquisitively behind me, or between my feet  as I’m trying to walk. My mom thinks this is hilarious, and that it means, cat possession being nine-tenths of the law, the cat is mine.

But really, any cat that’s fond of you will occasionally make demands of your attention.

You don’t need to write, human. Pet us!

Have you ever had a pet ‘choose’ someone who wasn’t their intended owner?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

