Day 3: The best book you’ve read in the last 12 months

This is a hard one… I’m going to arbitrarily remove any books from a series I’ve read in previous years, which makes it slightly less harder.

Actually, no, I give up. I’ll pick one from the last few months.

All about letting go. Hopeful, but sad.

Mystery of Grace; Charles de Lint

This is an urban fantasy book with a strong female character. It’s about what comes after death, coping with loss, and learning to move on–from a supernatural perspective.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

11 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I am so busy trying to write my OWN book (gulp) that I haven’t had much time for blogging or keeping up with my favorite bloggers, either one. But I just wanted to tell you that I am very much enjoying these Book of The Day Posts. I love hearing about authors I haven’t explored (yet!) and seeing what other people think of books and authors that I have. This book particularly caught my attention. It looks right up my alley. Great series of posts, Caitlin! Thanks.

  2. Marcia says:

    I’m setting some NaNoWriMo standards for myself…loosely…but decided not to try it this year. I was already so invested in this story that I didn’t want to put it aside and start something new. Next year, I’m going to be ready for it. I think it sounds like fun. Have you ever done it?

    • caitlinstern says:

      Never been brave enough. I’m always so busy in November… But it does sound like fun–hectic, crazy fun.

      • Marcia says:

        Silver Birch bloggers said it would amount to about 1,600 words a day. Right now, I’m hitting anywhere from 1,400 to 2,500, on average, with a few days between 3,000 and 4,000. So I think it’s doable, if you can make yourself sit down and work on it each day. I’m going to have to have a good, solid story in mind for me to be able to accomplish it. I don’t want to waste writing time thinking about what I want to happen next, you know?

        We should challenge each other to try it, just for fun. What’s the worst thing that can happen? You don’t make it to the 50,000, that’s all. But you would still have had that motivation, urging you to write each day. And you would still be able to avail yourself of the advice and help offered. Seems like it would be a win-win. You’d already be started on your book, no matter how far you made it in the actual contest.

        • caitlinstern says:

          You have a point. I suppose my problem is that I’m already pretty far into a book this year.
          So I’d need a new idea to write. And a plan/outline to not lose time contemplating ‘what’s next,’ too.

  3. Marcia says:

    You have a whole year to finish up the book you’re working on. Heck, I’m hoping to finish mine by January, hahaha. (I’m such a dreamer!) And I’m only 1/4 of the way through the length I anticipate it being. But now that I’ve got the characters’ voices down pretty well, it’s going much, much faster. I say finish your current book, and start a new one next November, even if you don’t do an outline. If you can figure out the story you want to tell, the contest will “force” you to get going on it, and by the time it’s over, the worst that can happen is that you’ll have a real good jump start on it. See…win-win. Come on. I dare ya!!! Join me. We can keep each other’s resolve steady. *grin*

    • caitlinstern says:

      The question will be whether I can come up with a new idea and not immediately start writing it. I have a great deal of partly-done projects because I get distracted by new ideas…

      • Marcia says:

        Well, perhaps you don’t have to think about a new idea just yet. It is still a year away. You can devote yourself to the book you are working on now, and wait until closer to next November to think about your next one. I may just have to pester you about it now and then, so you keep it in your mind. As of right now, I definitely want to give it a try, myself, and I hope you decide to, as well.

What are your thoughts?

