Day 5 – A book or series you hate.

Oh, I hope I don’t make anyone angry with this one. Remember, everyone takes their personal experience with them when they read a book. Generally, I wouldn’t claim to hate a book–simply to dislike it. But this is one I read recently which I disliked.

Treasure Island!!; Sara Levine

It’s the Black Spot for you, Ms. Levine. Sorry.

I wanted to like this book, I did. The main character decides to model her life after Treasure Island, which is a childhood favorite of mine. Pirates, treachery, and treasure!

Like many avid readers, I can identify with losing yourself a little too much in books, and being awkward around other people. But I couldn’t identify with the main character at all. I couldn’t like her, I didn’t care what happened to her, and I rather wanted her to stop talking. And to quit abusing exclamation marks.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.