Day 6 – Favorite male character in a book and why.

Miles Vorkosigan from Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan Saga.

Book 3. But 1 and 2 are more about his parents.

While these books aren’t for everyone (they’re Space Opera/Military sci fi), I can’t help but love Miles.

A failed assassination attempt on his pregnant mother leaves him with brittle bones and stunted growth; his home world hates “mutants” and labels him one; and he wants a military career even though he breaks his bones constantly–but the guy is determined. Miles is smart, charming, and wealthy, but it’s mostly his stubborn inability to quit that gets him through his challenges. He stumbles again and again, but keeps going.

And he’s funny, in a he’s-got-to-be-crazy kind of way.

“When the time came to leap in faith, whether you had your eyes open or closed or screamed all the way down or not made no practical difference.” – Lois McMaster Bujold

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Sounds like a hero I could get behind. Have you by any chance read any of the Larry Correia books? The Monster Hunters International series, or the Grimnoir Chronicles? They are totally man-oriented, kick-butt action books, with some supernatural things going on, and for some reason, I just love them. This made me think of them, even though this sounds more sci-fi than Urban Fantasy. Just wondering?

    I’m putting this one on my Want To Read list, and will be checking it out as soon as I bring the level of books in my To Be Read basket down to something less than the teetering pile of promising good reads it is right now.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I’ve read the MHI series, don’t think I have the other.
      Ah, yes, the To Read list… it never ends… 🙂

      • Marcia says:

        I am reading the current MHI right now, and hope to review the entire series, soon. It’s not my usual urban fantasy fare, but I absolutely love it. Sometimes you’ve just got to kick some butt and take no prisoners. Besides, I find the books funny. If you liked them, check out the Grimnoir series. It might be even more fun, though that would be stretching it a bit. Same approach, different world building and characters. It helped pass the time while I was waiting for this new one to come out.

What are your thoughts?

