Day 14 – Favorite book from your favorite author.

I don’t really have a single favorite author, but several favorite authors. One of them is Mercedes Lackey, and one of my favorite books by her, so loved that I had to buy a second copy after I read the first one to pieces, is By the Sword.

The Oathbound, Oathbreakers, and Oathblood, about her grandmother are also great books.

I think I found this book in high school, a time when I could really identify with Kerowyn, a girl who doesn’t fit into her family and the rules of proper womanly behavior at all. When her brother’s fiancée is kidnapped, she ends up rescuing the sheltered girl herself. Her family is horrified, but instead of letting them fit her into a cramped box of what she should be, she goes on to be a mercenary.

Also, I love the books that are set in Valdemar, or the adjoining countries, no matter the time period. If you haven’t read one, you should check them out. There’s a bunch of different ones, so you’re pretty much guaranteed to find a protagonist you like.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. If you enjoy fantasy, I recommend you Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathan Stroud and Shannara series by Terry Brooks. I haven’t read Mercedes Lackey. Let me see what I can find in our local bookstore.

    And I was a student of literature as well though English is not my first language:)

    • caitlinstern says:

      I’ve read Brooks, and I love snark and funny footnotes, so I’ll check the other series out!
      I wish I read another language than English, I’m sure something gets lost I’m translations, no matter how good they are…

  2. Marcia says:

    I have always preferred Urban Fantasy to just plain ol’ Fantasy, because I enjoy it when the monsters and magical beings and quests of various sorts walk among us or play out on our own streets, unbeknownst to most people going about their everyday lives. However, you are making me take a closer look at what pure Fantasy might have to offer. I have marked several of the books you’ve discussed this month for further inspection. I might even READ one. Haha.

    This Book-A-Day series of posts has been so interesting, Caitlin! Thanks for all the good ideas and thoughtful commentary. I’ll be sorry when November is over. (But I’m still going to try to get you to do NaNoWriMo next year. I don’t want to suffer alone!)
    😀

    • caitlinstern says:

      Urban Fantasy is wonderful–it allows a juxtaposition of magic and technology I love. The book I’m currently writing is in the genre, in fact. 🙂
      I hope you get to read at least one of the books!
      I promise, I haven’t forgotten NaNoWriMo2013 yet!

What are your thoughts?

