Day 19 – Favorite book cover.

The Sharing Knife: Beguilement and Legacy; Lois McMaster Bujold.

So, this is really two covers. But they form one picture, so I’m counting them as one. It’s a sweet series, a more happy than usual post-apocalyptic fantasy book.

(Like Anne McCaffrey’s Pern series. Once, in the distant past, there was technology. Life takes place after the recovery from the apocalypse. Rural, back to walking /horses as the main mode of transportation. But with interesting stories and ruins.)

I love reading fantasy–paranormal fantasy, urban fantasy, steampunk, etc–but I have to admit many of the covers are the same.

Extreme close up of a woman’s face. Woman dressed in very little clothes, posed in such a way to suggest she may be missing part of her spine. Woman with her head inexplicably cut off by the top of the book, or with her head turned away/in shadow. And so on…

Fawn is a farmer’s daughter. Dag is a Lakewalker, part of a tribe that farmer’s mistrust and fear. But he and his people are doing something important–killing monsters called malices. When Fawn gets caught by a malice, she finds out a lot more about the world’s hidden dangers than a sheltered farm-girl could dream existed.

Dag has wonders at his disposal, too–as shown by the swirl of fireflies on the covers.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

3 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I love cover art, Caitlin. These two books are really nice. I can see why you like them, since the feeling of magic is so well portrayed. When it comes to urban fantasy, chicks-kick-butt covers, I have to laugh all the time at the outfits, too. Why anyone would want to do battle with pointy-toothed and long-clawed monsters while so many bits of their anatomy are sticking out all exposed and unprotected defies logic. But apparently, low-cut, tightly-laced leather bustiers are all the rage among lethal superheroines. Go figger.

    Good post, as usual, and you are still piquing my interest in the world of pure fantasy.

    • caitlinstern says:

      It doesn’t defy logic, really. Who designs the costumes? Not the (fictional) character, but a) a male writer; b) a male artist; or c) someone who’s catering to the male buyers.
      It makes me think of the Chicks in Chainmail series… I remember a story where they design itty-bitty man-kini armor for the male soldiers, and then suddenly everyone agrees that more coverage is better.

  2. Marcia says:

    Don’t try to convince fans of “300” of that! *grin* Yeah, I know the art comes from guys, but it makes no sense in relation to the stories, NOR to the target audience of those books, which is largely female. They could make the gal look sexy without making her look stupid,IMO, but hey, nobody asked me what I think, anyway. So it is what it is, and I buy the books, anyway, if it’s a story I want to read. But I much prefer the covers Chris McGrath does. The women look sexy, but there’s usually not a lot of over-exposure, if you get my drift.

What are your thoughts?

