I drove 6 hours (round trip) to see some friends for the winter holidays. I like seeing them, but the drive is less than fun. Some long stretches of highway are two-way roads, with blind curves aplenty. This makes anyone trying to pass exciting. Any time you have to drive on the wrong side of the road to pass is exciting, in my opinion. Though some people do so with a careless flair.

A stretch of four lane highway right out of the city was made exciting by people trying to drive as if they were the only car on the road. The traffic was just heavy enough that there were cars ahead of and beside me, but this one person kept following me far too closely, anyway.

Sigh.

*    *     *     *

Road Rage

Sometimes

when someone’s riding my bumper

passing on the right

and generally being

that special brand of automotive-fueled

unhelpful

I picture my car with a tank gun

which I swivel to point

at them

a gentle reminder

to share the road

or else

The image makes it easier

to let go

instead of raging

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

