How do you remember your special days? Do you take a bunch of pictures, record them, or write them down? Or do something else?

I like to keep a sort of scrapbook/journal.

This is what my journal looks like on xmas... all the decorations means I write multiple pages.

This is what my journal looks like on xmas… all the decorations means I write multiple pages.

It’s not very neat, like a real scrapbook, but I jot down (in handwriting my teachers would not have approved of) what goes on in the day, and cut out little pieces of wrapping paper, ribbon, or gift tags and stick them around the edges.

The result is a journal that’s faintly triangular instead of lying completely flat when closed, but I like to flip through old programs and invitations when I’m reading about what I did and saw that day.

I know both pictures and videos would be a far more accurate recording of events. But I suppose you choose your medium based on what you care most about.

Do you want to remember everything exactly? Down to the unfortunate ketchup spill on your white shirt?

Do you really want photographic evidence of that haircut?

Personally, I think memories are fuzzy to protect us. Yeah, some things are lost that you wish weren’t, but so it goes. What I do is enough for me.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

