Construction is an unending part of the road system as far as I can tell. Something always needs to be resurfaced, widened, or some inexplicable other thing.

It always takes longer than they promise, and as soon as they’re done, they start again.

You cannot escape!Image from WikiCommons by Osvaldo Gago.

You cannot escape!
Image from Wikimedia by Osvaldo Gago.

The sheer amount of cars on the road in my area of Texas doesn’t help. Especially as many of them are jacked-up, extended cab, enormous trucks. (With truck nuts. Why, people? Why? I do not want to see that at the light. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, consider yourself lucky. I’m not putting a link here.)

Still, roads are pretty amazing. I especially like the look of overpasses–concrete ribbons curling and intersecting, peeling away and coming together.

Except when I can’t figure out which way to go, and am trapped in repeating loops.

*   *    *    *

Gridlocked

Traffic moving

inches

instead of miles an hour

Painted metal hulls

shimmering

with heat

trapped bumper to bumper

Unending construction

towers above

skeletons of overpasses

bridges

and highways

ending in open air

going nowhere

Only time will connect

concrete and steel sweeping up and away

wheels curving to follow the arc

finally in motion

The city falling below

lights cycling

buildings gleaming

and traffic

as often as not

gridlocked

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

