I try to respect people’s beliefs and/or fears.

After all, I look away whenever I see a needle on a t.v. screen, much less in real life.

But every time a black cat stays at the shelter days, weeks, or even months longer than the other cats, it makes me sad.

This right here was a sweet cat.

My Sean was a very sweet cat.

How could you say no to these faces?

How could you say no to these faces?

Give peace a chance!

Give peace a chance!

In my personal experience, black cats are just as sweet–sometimes a little sweeter–than cats of other colors. I admit the boy cats seem to end up massive, but they’re generally very mild-mannered, like big dogs. But black cats and dogs are harder to get into a home–which makes me very glad I volunteer at a no-kill shelter.

Do you have any superstitions? How do they affect your life?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

16 responses »

  1. letizia says:

    That surprises and saddens me that black cats and dogs take longer to get adopted; it’s something that I didn’t know. I grew up with black dogs and, although I don’t have cats, it wouldn’t cross my mind to not get one because of its color. And that despite that I am a little superstitious at times! I avoid walking under ladders (but that’s mixed with a little common sense if you ask me!) and avoid putting a hat on a bed (no common sense here, just a silly Italian superstition!).

    • caitlinstern says:

      I’ve had people refuse to even consider cats because they’re black. It makes me sad, too.
      People like the brighter and eye-catching colors best–orange tabbies, calicos, and pointed cats (like Siamese.)
      Ladders can be unstable if not properly deployed. And why duck under something you can go around?
      There’s some sense to the hat-bed thing. Really, you should put nothing on a bed that can’t survive being sat on. Like glasses. Glasses are a terrible thing to put on a bed…

  2. I tend to do things in threes — although that might be less superstition, and more mild OCD, lol.

  3. Marcia says:

    Well, I throw a pinch salt over my shoulder when I spill it, and I never take down my Christmas tree until after New Year’s Day (it needs to be up for “first footers”). I say God Bless You when someone sneezes. And I refuse to wish anything bad on even my worst enemies for fear it would come true in ways I hadn’t foreseen. But #1 & #2 are really more like traditions for me, and #3 is good manners. #4 is a firm belief in Karma, and in my own journey towards trying to forgive those who have wronged me. Plus, I do think what goes around, comes around, including hateful wishes. So I’m not sure if any of these counts as actual superstition.

    I’m sorry, but I can’t imagine any REAL animal lover thinking the color of an animal is bad luck. That’s just ignorant and cruel. And as the PROUD owner of a black and white tuxedo cat, I’m pretty sure it isn’t so. Of course, he does have the extra cute benefit of having a pink nose and white whiskers, but he’s still 99% black, and I’m positive he isn’t unlucky. Shame on people who would ignore a cat because he’s black. Of course, I confess that when I’m adopting a kitten, I do tend to go for cute, and often times ones with fancy markings are irresistible. Maybe it’s more that? The little striped tiger is too cute to ignore?

    • caitlinstern says:

      I bless people, too. It’s polite–unless they’re very sneezy. Because after the third or fourth time, you’re getting on everyone’s nerves. 🙂
      I agree that some of it is because the black cats are ‘plain’ I’ve noticed that the cats that stand out go the fastest–the one orange cat in a litter of brown tabbies will be adopted first.

      • Marcia says:

        Yeah, I think people instinctively want the prettiest kitten in the group, and apparently, for most people, it’s the ones with bright colors or pretty markings. I’m guilty of that at times, myself, but I would never NOT adopt a black cat because I thought it was bad luck. I found mine (his name is Harry) in our woodpile nearly two years ago, and he was so dang cute I couldn’t make myself find another home for him, even though we didn’t need any more cats. Having lost several recently, he is my favorite by far of the ones still with us. He’s loving, and sweet, and mischievous, and…perfect! Black cats rule!

  4. Poor Kitties. I really don’t BELIEVE any superstitions, but I must admit, they cross my mind… stepping on a crack, passing a graveyard, the black cat and others. Silly things become a part of culture in many ways.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I only have a problem with it when it affects life in a negative way.
      Trying to walk down an old sidewalk without stepping on cracks is actually challenging and fun. Maybe that’s just me…

What are your thoughts?

