I have an inexplicable fondness for cheesy monster movies. I’m not talking the good ones–I mean the ones where the budget seemed too low for decent special effects, the actors are no one you recognize and don’t seem especially experienced, and the plot makes no sense whatsoever.

And the monster…

Any number of predators some scientist decided to make enormous, horrifyingly violent, and toss in something extra special just for fun, contained by a cage ‘guaranteed’ never to fail. (Because we have never learned from the ‘unsinkable’ Titanic, or any other disasters. Haven’t these people watched Godzilla?)

A genetically spliced shark/octopus (Sharktopus!)? Why not?

Mutant crocodiles made into pseudo-dinosaurs? Sounds like fun.

A python given a modified scorpion-tail complete with venom? Excellent decision!

You know what this eating machine needs? Lasers.Image from Wikimedia by Torox.

You know what this eating machine needs? Lasers.
Image from Wikimedia by Torox.

I saw a movie recently about killer piranha.  These fish were the size of a bus by the end of the movie–they just kept growing! And they survived a nuclear explosion. (There were no lasers, but that would’ve been amazing!)

Every time one of these enormous fish went flying out of the water–did I mention they could almost fly, they leap so far?–and went smashing into a building, I laughed.

What makes a movie so awesomely bad it’s good? You ask yourself ‘Why is this so funny? It’s meant to be serious. People are (fake) dying here!’

But still, you can’t look away, or stop laughing.

What are your guilty pleasures? Your favorite movie monster?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

3 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Anything being watched on Mystery Science Fiction Theater 3000. Nothing like those 3 silhouettes down front, making snarky comments, to add to the pleasure of a cheesy sci-fi or horror flick. One of my favorites from way back when was Tarantula, but I don’t know why, except that I am genuinely horrified of spiders, so one approximately the size of an aircraft carrier was hypnotic. But for all around cheese, any of the Creature from the Black Lagoon movies (there were 3, I think) is always good for a giggle.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I’ve never seen Mystery Science Theater, but it sounds like fun.
      Science says that an exoskeleton that size would collapse on itself. But science never saves people in monster movies.

      • Marcia says:

        Check here:
        http://www.mst3k.com/

        The opening clip shows the infamous 3 silhouettes.

        Here’s a quote from Wiki that sums up the premise.

        “Sometime in the future, two mad scientists, Dr. Clayton Forrester, played by Trace Beaulieu, and his sidekick Dr. Laurence Erhardt, played by Josh Weinstein, launch Joel Robinson (Hodgson), a janitor working for Gizmonic Institute, into space and force him to watch truly horrible B-movies in order to measure how much bad movie watching it takes to drive a person crazy, and to pinpoint the perfect B-movie to use as a weapon in Dr. Forrester’s scheme of world domination.

        I don’t know if it’s in reruns any more or not, but OMG, was it funny. There were always little skits between Joel and his two weird robot sidekicks, and then they’d settle down to watch the chosen movie. Their running commentary was hilarious. I’d love to find it on some channel somewhere, myself. I’m pretty sure I would still find it funny. (Oh, and I guess I made up the part with “Fiction” in the title. It’s been a long time.)

What are your thoughts?

