They’re watching you…
Image from WikiCommons by Centers for Disease Control

One thing I’ve mentioned before is that I love movies based on books. Someone else who loves them–calls them mooks–is Mookology. Check them out!

I saw Warm Bodies–which is a zombie Romeo and Juliet. It was cute, sweet, and funny. I’d recommend it to anyone who likes that sort of thing. The zombie romance is handled well, and works much better than the words ‘zombie romance’ would make you think.

I finally got to the book, which I also liked. I’d recommend either of them to people who like zombies. The book, of course, has more detail in it. Some scenes are fleshed out more in the book, and a few plot points were cut  off in the movie.

The main character, R, is different in the book–less aimless, perhaps older, and differently clothed (this might not seem important, but both mediums mention his clothes representing who he was when he was alive.)

Also, the book is a little darker and more thoughtful. An actual zombie culture’s explored in its pages, with details that range from intriguing to disturbing. All the zombies, not just R, interact with each other. They’re still zombies, but different from the usual moaning, lurching horde. There’s also a little more explanation for how and why the zombie apocalypse happened.

And Isaac Marion is working on a second book…

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I saw the previews to this one in the theater, and actually thought it looked pretty amusing. I might have to check out the book. I seldom go to the movies, unless it is something I simply HAVE to see on the big screen, because I need closed captioning. So the book might work better for me, all around. Thanks for the review. I’m not really big into zombies, but after reading Carrie Ryan’s love and dark series, starting with The Forest of Hands & Teeth, I’m much more open to the concept now.

    • Marcia says:

      Make that “lovely and dark,” of course. I wish I could edit my responses on WordPress. Eeek.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Well, it will come out on DVD soon enough, if you feel so inclined. (I watch DVDs with subtitles, myself. There’s usually a line or two you can’t quite hear…)
      Zombies have been one of my favorite things for some time now–since they started drifting from strict horror to dark comedy.
      But that’s the great things about books. Every genre has enough sub-categories that you can usually find something that works for you.

      • Marcia says:

        Very true. I still haven’t read any zombie books, other than the Carrie Ryan trilogy, which I thoroughly enjoyed. (Have you read that one?) I have been tempted by some really funny sounding ones in the bookstore which I swore I would look up on amazon, but which I failed to write down the titles of, and now have forgotten. And there’s the Jane Austen zombie one, but I haven’t read that, either. Shame on me.

        • caitlinstern says:

          I have not. I’ll check it out, though.
          Goodreads has a barcode scan app, so if you carry a smart phone you could add all the books to a ‘check these out’ list.
          Or you could try this:
          http://www.goodreads.com/list/show/933.Zombies_
          I liked the series that start with Feed (Mira Grant), Married with Zombies (Jesse Peterson), and Even White Trash Zombies Get the Blues (Diana Rowland).

          • Marcia says:

            I recognize that last one, for sure. Normally, I use my amazon app to take a picture of a book cover and check the reviews on amazon, then save it if I’m interested in it. I’ll check out your link, too.

            Somehow, I always forget to do it with some of these titles. My friend & I saw a zombie book the other day with the funniest cover, EVER. It was a hugely complicated stick-figure like action scene of zombies battling unicorns, and the cover alone was worth the price of the book. I really wanted to get it, but was pinching my pennies until payday. Now I’m sorry I didn’t. The title had to do with zombies vs unicorns, too. Maybe you’ve seen it.

            The Forest of Hands and Teeth was a beautiful read to me. Dark & disturbing, but the overarching theme of human resiliency and determination carries through all three books. There were a few moments at the end of the final book that didn’t work for me, but other than that, the whole series was very good. It’s a YA series, but don’t let that stop you. The books, in order are The Forest of Hands & Teeth (a title I absolutely love), The Dead-Tossed Waves, and The Dark & Hollow Places. Let me know if you try it.

          • caitlinstern says:

            I’ve read a Zombies vs. Unicorns book:
            http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7171748-zombies-vs-unicorns?ac=1
            I got it from the library. My penny saving method. 🙂
            I found TFoH&T at the library as a Kindle book, and am on the list to get it.

          • Marcia says:

            Yes, that’s the book, but not the cover. If you look at the alternate covers, you can see part of the one I meant. It’s #3, and the design covers the whole front and back of the book, and is so funny. All the little zombies with arms torn off, or unicorns stomping on them, etc. It’s full of tiny little details that really made us laugh. I should get that book just for the humor of the cover artist.

          • caitlinstern says:

            That humor continues in the book–all the story intros remind me of kids elbowing each other in the backseat of a car.
            Zombies are better!
            No, unicorns!

          • Marcia says:

            Oh, I remember now…there were some authors in there that I read regularly. I think I need to get this book. It might even have had a Carrie Ryan story in there. Can’t remember for sure, but I know I was tempted. I love anthologies, anyway. Yeah, I gotta get it, but I want that cover. I love the dead zombies with unicorn hoof prints on their backs, and all the rest of the mayhem. Careful. You’ll make a zombie lover out of me yet.

What are your thoughts?

