This poem is thanks to Marcia, because I had the idea for it while we were discussing how people can be very dismissive of writing because it’s difficult to make it as a career writer.

True, but you do any hobby because you enjoy it. Not every golfer/fisherperson/etc will be a professional, and people are usually okay with that. Why the hate for the creative hobbies?

And yes, Marcia, I wrote a poem about poetry and sweaters. My brain works like that sometimes.

Why write poetry when you can have THIS?Image from WikiCommons by TheUglySweaterShop dot com

Why write poetry when you can have THIS?
Image from WikiCommons by TheUglySweaterShop dot com

*   *   *

A Sweater is Better

Don’t write poetry, they said

nothing will come of it

since it’s not something people need

you’ll never get anywhere

.

Don’t write poetry, they said

you won’t make any money

because you aren’t any good

you’d better focus your hopes elsewhere

.

If you must have a hobby

try knitting

a sweater will do better

to keep off the cold

.

Don’t listen to them, I say

a sweater warms your body

but a poem can warm your mind

and ignite your heart

.

Don’t listen to them, I say

they’ve let their dreams gutter and dim

into fine gray piles of ashes

and they want you to do the same

.

If you must have a hobby

then do what blazes in you

not simply what’s practical

or best of all–do both

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I love it, Caitlin! Ain’t it the truth! Well said, and I’m happy our conversation inspired you to write it. It’s a great little poem and an even greater bit of advice. Would that I had learned it earlier in life!
    🙂

    • caitlinstern says:

      It took you a bit, but now you’re doing both, after all.
      I can’t sew/knit/etc. myself. The closest I get is laborious cross-stitch that looks okay as long as you don’t look at the back…

      • Marcia says:

        Yep, I’m doing everything I can. I’m not going to shuffle off this mortal coil regretting that I didn’t try the things I’ve always wanted to do. Ha. Got one on ya. I sew (not elaborate stuff), crochet like crazy, have piles of cross stitch stuff, and can knit the tiniest little bit, but don’t like it. I used to do tons of needlework of all kinds, but don’t any more, although I have promised my daughter some crocheted hats for her baby due in 2 weeks. But YOU have been writing all that time I was stitching. And to me, the sweater isn’t better. BOTH!! I vote for BOTH!!!

What are your thoughts?

