Have you ever wanted something you didn’t need? Not something you can use, just something you want. Because it’s pretty.

Leaving aside things that are too expensive or impractical–how do you decide? Do you get it anyway, or let it go?

Like this little brown and white stuffed bunny.

Don't look into its eyes...

Don’t look into its eyes…

It’s so adorable it’s mesmerizing.  However, I still have plenty of toys left over from childhood and assorted presents. I don’t need this bunny, not even in a decorative fashion. But it’s so soft and cuddly…

I had a few pet rabbits when I was a kid–dwarf rabbits–tiny, adorable, warm little bundles of fur generally tolerant to being cuddled. So I want the bunny for nostalgic reasons, I guess. As well as a weakness for cuteness. None of my pets looked quite like this, though I had a black-and-white with the same markings.

I’ve managed to tell myself no the three times I’ve walked by this bunny at the store, and last time, there were only two left, so the temptation will go away eventually.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. Funny you spotlighted a bunny toy – I was out with my daughter and we went into her favorite chocolate store – they had the most adorable soft bunnies for sale. Yes I cuddled and snuggled but made myself put it back…what would I do with it once I got it home? (P.S. I’m in my 50’s!) There isn’t any justification for buying it but I did embarrass my 16 year old with my snuggles in the store – so maybe that was my ‘treat’.
    I usually covet something – but walk away from it three times – if its still there I then make the decision whether I should buy it or not…usually not!

  2. Marcia says:

    For me, if I’ve gone back to something three times, and it isn’t unaffordable or a bad idea for other means (like another pet), I figure there is something about it my HEART needs. And I’m inclined to get it at that point. Sometimes it’s about taking care of your authentic self. Or your inner child. Or just bringing yourself some happiness. I think you want to have a cuddle bunny. Maybe you should?

    • caitlinstern says:

      Looks like the three time rule is popular. Makes sense. 🙂
      I figured I’m just as happy, if not happier, snuggling a cat. Between my houseful of cats and the shelter’s cats to visit, I get plenty of cuddles.
      Including kitten cuddles, which are great after you’ve trimmed those teeny tiny nails…

What are your thoughts?

