Generally, I’m one of those people who hates practical jokes–at the root a lot of them seem rather cruel. So I don’t especially look forward to the first of April.

Think of how much time it's going to take to fix this...Image from WikiCommons by Pedro Vera

Think of how much time it’s going to take to fix this…
Image from WikiCommons by Pedro Vera

As long as no one pulls actual pranks on me, I can enjoy the obligatory online jokes. Some companies announce that they’re making a weird product–a peculiar flavored food item and an oddly focused video game, for example, both showed up on my Facebook feed. Two of my friends had liked these items, both clearly aware of the joke.

Inevitably, one or two of the web comics I read announces that they’re going off on a random tangent, completely reworking the story or style. I’m sure this enrages some people who’ve forgotten the day, but…

Well, most of us are in on the joke, right? How often have you forgotten it’s the first of April? That awareness makes the whole thing different. Instead of “What!?” you chuckle and think “Ah, that’s what they did for April Fools.”

And I’m okay with that.

What were you favorite April first activities? Do you strive not to be fooled, or laugh when you are?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. alirthome says:

    i honestly had no idea what day of the week or date that it was when i read an article say that Dinklage from Game of Thrones was not coming back in the next season. I thought “wait a second. they’d be committing show suicide if this happened. It can’t be true” and then it hit me what day it was. I think it might start becoming coming to pull pranks either before or after april fool’s just so people are surprised. Just like how Christmas starts in October. In the future, i look forward to a week full of pranks 🙂

  2. I quite liked the Youtube joke, where they “revealed” that Youtube has been a contest all along to find the best video on the internet, and that the contest is now over, they’re shutting down Youtube, and they’ll announce the winner in 10 years once they’ve gone through all 60 bazillion entries.

What are your thoughts?

