Werewolves are pretty common stuff in literature. Even then, there’s a lot of variety–from the enormous monster wolves, actual wolf-sized wolves, and the wolfman.

Wolfman.Image from WikiCommons by MM Public Relations

Wolfman.
Image from WikiCommons by MM Public Relations

Some authors stretch the possibilities more. Werecats are popular, too (usually tigers, leopard, panthers, or lions, but I once read a book with were-house-cats). I’ve also read about werehyenas, wererats (horribly terrifying  because they were human sized. Yeesh), werefoxes, and weresnakes…

Which means, I think, you can pretty nearly be a were-anything.

What kind of werecreature would you like to read about? (Leaving the mythical creatures out. Though a weredragon would be awesome.) If someone leaves a comment that inspires me, I’ll write you a story.

If no one does, I’ll write you a story anyway. No telling what kind of creature I’ll come up with, though.

NOTE: Spell check is okay with werewolves, but surprisingly close-minded about any other kind of shapeshifter.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

8 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    BIRD!!! A nice were-eagle or were-owl. I mean, hello…FLYING!!! And not as a bat. But as something more majestic, looking over the world below. And making good time between Point A and Point B, too…as the CROW flies, hahaha.

    Other than that, cats are good. Liquid movement, stealth, beauty, ferocity, all in one. Epic battle between werecat and werebird. *grin*

    • caitlinstern says:

      I can picture an attack by a flock of werebirds…
      Hitchcock would be proud.

      • Marcia says:

        Oh, yeah! They could be little, evil children, playing on the nearby jungle gym, and then suddenly…werebirds, with vicious beaks, ready to shred flesh! Run, Suzanne Pleshette, RUN!!!!
        *flappity-flap-flap*

        • caitlinstern says:

          And they have the possibility of fingers and thumbs, which isn’t a good thing for people trying to hide from them…

          • Marcia says:

            Better and better! Winged evil children of the corn, rising up out of the fields to swoop down on unsuspecting farmers and rend them to pieces with beaks and talons, using those opposable thumbs to pinch their wallets at the same time. Blood & flesh lust sated, they flap lazily back to the nearest mall, morph into their two-legged forms and spend the afternoon blowing the farmer’s money at the tattoo parlor and the penny arcade. Which costs more now, but you get my drift.

            This has Pulitzer Prize written all over it!!!.

          • caitlinstern says:

            I am never going outside again. O_o

          • Marcia says:

            That’s okay. You can write from INSIDE. Get busy! Can Evil Winged Wunderkind be far behind? I’m tellin’ ya…prize money awaits you!

  2. […] little while ago, I asked about what kind of werecreatures people thought were interesting/ would like to read about. My blog-friend Marcia demanded wereowls […]

What are your thoughts?

