***~~*~~~*~~~*—National Library Week April 14 – 20—*~~~*~~~*~~***

Steacie Library by Raysonho

Give me some books!
Image from WikiCommons by Raysonho

I love libraries. They are, in their own way, as good as bookstores. I read so much I couldn’t possibly buy all the books I read. And honestly, for many books, one reading is enough. So libraries let you read a book that sounds interesting, a maybe-yes, maybe-no approach to book love.

And libraries are where you find librarians, incredibly helpful people, who armed with title and author can  hand you a book from another city or state. Or simply assemble a stack of books from branches scattered around the city.

Or you can wander through the stacks, picking titles that sound interesting. The new book section of my college town’s main branch was my favorite place to browse. They even thoughtfully provided a wooden bench, so you could sit while perusing the bottom shelf. And stack the books next to you as you go. (Also, it was conveniently close to the check-out, when I loaded myself up with a staggering pile of books. Nothing sounds so loud in a quiet library as several books sliding from your arms to thump on the floor.)

When traveling, it’s nice to visit libraries. They’re often impressive buildings, with sweeping heights, arrays of windows, spiraling staircases, and glass elevators.

Where’s your favorite library? Do you have a favorite place within it?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

