April is National Poetry Month!

This poem took a right turn somewhere. When I started writing it, I was thinking about reading, and how what you read can change you. I’m not quite sure what it’s about now.

Rogue poetry is like weeds. But weeds can be pretty. Image from WikiCommons by adrian.benko

Rogue poetry is like weeds. But weeds can be pretty.
Image from WikiCommons by adrian.benko

Words like Rain

People talk about words

falling on them like a gentle rain

or soaking in like sunshine

But people aren’t plants

and I didn’t wait

rooted

for your words

I hunted for your speech

to pierce me

bloom in my blood

a virus

Once infected

I battled

feverish

to prevent your words

from rewriting mine

Crippled

your words

flow with the beat of my heart

antibodies

against another infection

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

