Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites.

toptentuesday2

May 7: Top Ten Books When You Need Something Light & Fun.

catfantastic

1. Catfantastic; Andre Norton, Martin H. Greenberg, eds. A collection of stories about cats. Short story collections are good for light, fun reads.

chicks in chainmail

2. Chicks in Chainmail; Esther M. Friesner. Ignore the woman showing skin on the cover, and notice the man lying defeated in the background. These ‘chicks’ mean business.

emily strange

3. Emily the Strange; Buzz Parker, Brian Brooks. Emily is perpetually thirteen, but these books are meant to amuse the young-at-heart with a dark sense of humor.

going postal

4. Going Postal; Terry Pratchett. Pretty much everything Pratchett writes is funny, though there’s a deeper meaning under his books. Moist von Lipwig, the reformed criminal, is a little more focused on the surface.

hello gorgeous

5. Hello, Gorgeous!; MaryJanice Davidson. The words ‘Super-spy cyborg’ appear in the description. What more do you need to know?

james fabulous feline

6. James, Fabulous Feline; Harriet Hahn. This is the second book, but this cover is awesome. A smart, crime-solving cat with a taste for fine food.

love afternoon

7. Love in the Afternoon; Lisa Kleypas. I adore the whole crazy Hathaway family in this book series, but Beatrix is my favorite. What’s more light and fun than a romance?

one for the money

8. One For the Money; Janet Evanovich. Or anything in the Plum Series. Stephanie Plum is the worst bond enforcement agent. Any success is due to luck or stubborn persistence. Her life is a chain of monumental disasters, sometimes helped and usually hindered by the outrageous characters that are her friends and family.

quozl

9. Quozl; Alan Dead Foster. The Quozl are incredibly lovable aliens, which is probably for the best, because when they came to settle Earth, they didn’t know there were already people on it!

size 12

10. Size 12 Is Not Fat; Meg Cabot. Heather Wells, failed teen pop star turned dorm director, is another hilariously accident prone protagonist.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

8 responses »

  1. Lucy says:

    Meg Cabot’s books are so fun! I need to check out Kleypas and Evanovich sometime.

  2. I love Kleypas; both the Wallflowers and Hathaways series made my list. (Although my favorite Hathaway story is Amelia’s. Cam is so… *sigh*. ) And yeah, “super-spy cyborg” pretty much sold me; I’m putting the Davidson book on my to-read list. As for Pratchett, one of these days I’ll get to them. (Colour of Magic almost put me off, but my daughter has been reading me snippets of Guards! Guards! and it’s hysterical.)

    • caitlinstern says:

      Cam is smoking, indeed. 🙂
      You might pick a newer series for Pratchett–each character arc is pretty self-contained. His oldest books are the driest, I think.
      Sam Vimes has one of the darker stories, too. Death’s granddaughter Susan or conman Moist von Lipwig’s stories are maybe a better choice.

  3. KateB says:

    Heather Wells is always a good light and fun read! And I’ve not read that series by Mary Janice Davidson but her Betsy the Vampire and Fred the Mermaid series are always great for a laugh – I’ll check this series out too.

    Also – I love your header picture! So many books on your shelf that I know and love (like the Katie MacAlister on the far right!) Have a great week 🙂

    • caitlinstern says:

      Everyone seems to be noticing that book–I’m glad to share it!

      Thanks. 🙂 I saw all the pretty pictures bloggers had up, of a bookshelf with an artful arrangement of objects flanking the books… and put up a picture of my messy shelves anyway.

  4. Anny says:

    You’re right, I can’t deny that a book wth the words “Super-spy cybrg” does attract me, I’m going to have to read this one.

    Also everyone seems to be recommending Meg Cabot, might have to give her books a shot too 🙂 Great list!

    • caitlinstern says:

      I found so many books looking at this TTT I had to stop… but every once and a while you do need something sweet to read.

      Cabot has a bunch of series, so I bet you can find something that appeals to you. Happy reading!

What are your thoughts?

