I’ve decided to try a new blog hop: The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link to find the rules if you want to join.) It sounds like fun.

wewriwa_square_2

Becca slumped over her coffee mug, watching Lily work busily away. How can she look so happy this early on a Monday?

Lily was one of those overachievers that made the rest of the world look bad. She probably went home each night to a few TV shows, a cat, and an early bedtime. But Becca wanted a life, which was why she’d stayed out until 2 a.m. on another disappointing date. There’s no good guys out there. I’m almost thirty, not much time left.

“Have you finished the H.M.I. folder yet?” Irving asked.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

13 responses »

  1. Nice post – a thought – change the “that” in the first sentence to “who”. Intrigued by both Lily and Becca. Loved the snippet and defintiely want to know more.

  2. Poor Becca paying now for a night out! Very fun piece. 🙂

  3. I think Becca would be very surprised if she saw what Lily does at night.

  4. So true to life in the day job. Will bed interesting to see what they don’t know they don’t know about each other.

  5. I agree – I bet she’s a bit off on how Lily actually spends her time.I had to laugh at her idea that she doesn’t have much time left b/c she’s almost 30. Unless this isn’t a normal situation…? Becca has made me want to know more!

  6. kaycimorgan says:

    Poor Becca. Keep kissing those frogs, you’ll find your prince.

  7. Well I think a lot of people think 30 is old so shes not far off. And overachievers at the office, so realistic. Lily must absolutely have a cat, how could she not? Nice snippet and we already she the contrast in these tow women—providing of course that Becca is right. Got to watch those overachievers, sometimes they over do everything. 🙂
    History Sleuth’s Milk Carton Murders

  8. Nice. I want to know more. Thanks for sharing. I think I will join :).

  9. writerlysam says:

    Perky in the morning – yep, something’s up with her, that’s just not normal:)

What are your thoughts?

