Image from WikiCommons by Volfgang.

Image from WikiCommons by Volfgang.

Wandering Path

Water drags its feet

scuffing

earth and stone

leaving meandering

footprints

worn into paths

visible

even on the hottest

summer day

dry cracked silt and mud

parched smooth rocks

waiting to be trod over

come Spring

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

5 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    This is beautiful, Caitlin! I love the imagery AND the concept of the stream leaving footprints behind. This would have been PERFECT for submission to you know what! *sigh* I so wish you would get your poems “out there” in a way that might garner some real recognition…or prizes, even! Lovely work!

    • caitlinstern says:

      Thanks, Marcia!
      I promise I will–we just need to find these contests before 3 days to deadline.

      • Marcia says:

        Good point. Especially considering the mistake I made. BUT. Had I submitted the right poems, the ones I had originally INTENDED to submit, it would have been something I could have felt good about trying. I’m going to keep my eyes open for any more competitions, just to get the feel of doing it. You should, too. You have LOTS of stuff, unpublished, that you could submit. Oh, how I wish this one was on its way to some judges, somewhere. It’s lovely.

  2. I love this! I can see the footprints and my own lips felt dried and cracked as I read through. You are a great talent Miss Caitlin.

What are your thoughts?

