Since I discovered the Top 100 Free Kindle books on Amazon, I have a small ebook problem.

Like any avid reader, I have to prioritize my TBR stack, or things go wrong.

Library books first, obviously. (They insist on having those back.) Ones that other readers have on hold go first, because renewal is always an option for the others.

There's always more books... Image from WikiMedia by Jason7825.

There’s always more books…
Image from WikiMedia by Jason7825.

Kindle books are hidden on the next screen pages, but the small number at the bottom still mocks me. Page 2 of 6… Seven books fit on a screen page, so that represents a fair number of books.

Generally, I read most of them, then am tempted by those free ebooks, and add a half-dozen books in a few minutes.

They’re free, so I lose nothing but time by getting them. Except sometimes I feel like I should be spending that time reading something from the stack of books I bought that are now languishing unread on my shelf. Or even rereading an old favorite I haven’t gotten to in a while.

Do you get free ebooks? How do you decide how many to get? When do you delete one as a bad time investment?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

5 responses »

  1. Edelweiss has become both my favourite site and the bane of my existence. I find myself trolling the new e-galley listings almost daily. I’m pretty careful about what I request, but I still often find myself overwhelmed when I look at my downloads page.

    The library…that’s an even worse story.

  2. Marcia says:

    Yep, I get ’em. And like you, I don’t know when I’ll read them. But I have a folder set up on my Kindle just for Free Books. They go straight into that folder, out of sight, but only a click away. I downloaded 47 last week, however, I’m very good at knowing within the first few pages if I’m going to want to read the rest of a book or not. I’ve already taken a look at and dumped about ten of them. Did that in the same evening. I don’t go look at the Free list more than once a week or so. Then I will scan at least five pages on the BIG (400 page) list of titles. I make myself stop after that, and go read something else. I have real good willpower about the time I’m willing to spend scanning titles, but not about how many free books I’m going to snatch, just in case they turn out to be treasures I’ll be happy I read.

    And I don’t borrow books from any libraries any more, virtual or not. If it’s something I know I want to read, I want to own it, either on my shelves or on my Kindle. Borrowing is frustrating, both because of time constraints and because if I like it, I don’t want to give it back. 😀

    • caitlinstern says:

      I don’t think I could afford all the books I check out from the library–and honestly, I like the freedom of knowing if it’s not that good, it’s not mine.

      But I don’t have the bookshelves you do.

      • Marcia says:

        I have surprisingly few physical books on hand that I didn’t like. Partly because I’m pretty good at sussing out whether it’s going to be my kind of book or not. I also will sell the ones I didn’t care for at a local used bookstore, or give them to friends who I think would enjoy them more than I did. But mostly, I buy so many books that are part of a series that I already know I love that I don’t get filled up with too many bad ones. Also, a $2.99 loser on Kindle isn’t as big a deal. But I certainly understand the need for libraries. I just haven’t felt like they were working for me in the last five years. (Coinciding perfectly with my first Kindle, haha.)

        I am truly blessed, though, to have loads and loads of bookshelves, in several rooms. Otherwise, I’d have to get rid of a bunch to make room for new ones! 😉

What are your thoughts?

