Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentues

July 30: Top Ten Favorite Beginnings/Endings In Books (talk about books that started or ended just perfectly or with a bang OR you could do specific opening lines or last lines.)

I’m going with beginnings–the first lines are, after all, your first impression after a book cover.

curious incident

1. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime; Mark Haddon. “It was 7 minutes after midnight. The dog was lying on the grass in the middle of the lawn in front of Mrs Shears’ house. Its eyes were closed.”

fahrenheit 451

2. Fahrenheit 451; Ray Bradbury. “It was a pleasure to burn.”

hitchhiker's guide

3. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy; Douglas Adams. “Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the Western Spiral arm of the Galaxy lies a small unregarded yellow sun.”

kraken

4. Kraken; China Miéville.  “An everyday doomsayer in sandwich-board abruptly walked away from what over the last several days had been his pitch, by the gates of a museum. The sign on his front was an old-school prophecy of the end: the one bobbing on his back read FORGET IT.”

matilda

5. Matilda; Roald Dahl. “It’s a funny thing about mothers and fathers. Even when their own child is the most disgusting little blister you could ever imagine, they still think that he or she is wonderful.”

pride and prejudice

6. Pride and Prejudice; Jane Austen. “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”

princess bride

7. The Princess Bride; William Goldman. “This is my favorite book in all the world, though I have never read it.”

Slaughterhouse Five

8. Slaughterhouse-Five; Kurt Vonnegut. “All this happened, more or less.”

summon keeper

9. Summon the Keeper; Tanya Huff. “When the storm broke, rain pounding down in great sheets out of a black and unforgiving sky, Claire Hansen had to admit she wasn’t surprised; it had been that kind of evening.”

Tinker

10. Tinker; Wen Spencer. “The wargs chased the elf over Pittsburgh Scrap and Salvage’s tall chain link fence shortly after the hyperphase gate powered down.”

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. Cait H. says:

    I connect with The Princess Bride! Favourite movie ever, and I always recommend it…yet I’ve never read the story. I’m kind of scared too, since the movie means so much to me.
    Thanks so dropping by my post today! 🙂

    • caitlinstern says:

      The book is really different–some people might not like it. I’m just one of those people who *has* to know.
      The movie is a ‘good parts’ version, so the book mentions all the bits that were left out. Some are a little dry, and well, it goes past the ending of the movie into a cliffhanger.

  2. nikihawkes says:

    I love that Tinker is on your list – I’m reading it for the second time around so I can remember in detail what happened before I pick up her new book, Elfhome. Great choices! 🙂

    • caitlinstern says:

      I have Steel City Magic (Tinker and Wolf Who Rules together) and I read it fairly often.

      Have you seen Eight Million Gods? It’s a different urban fantasy setting, but still funny and clever and interesting.

      • nikihawkes says:

        I own a copy but haven’t read it yet. I just grabbed it and reread the back cover – I think I’ve been saving it for a rainy day, LOL. I’m glad to have talk to someone who’s read it, though, because I wasn’t sure if It was any good. So, thank you 🙂

  3. acps927 says:

    Fahrenheit 451 and The Princess Bride are two books on my TBR that I have to say I really like the opening lines for!

    • caitlinstern says:

      Hope you enjoy them!

      The Princess Bride is a little odd–it’s a ‘best parts version’ that mentions the parts left out, but a good addition to the movie.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    I love Roald Dahl so much – that opening line pretty much encompasses his language and sense of humour. This is a really great list!

What are your thoughts?

