This 8 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

Continues from my last snippet of “Lily Wasn’t There” –Becca watches Lily work, while avoiding any work of her own. Last line: Becca is sent to get details of a new account from Lily, who is not at her desk, and rummages for clues until Lily returns and catches Becca snooping. Becca: “Mr. Williams said I should ask you about the Montemayor account.”

wewriwa_square_3

Sitting at her desk, Lily opened a drawer, and pulled out a folder, neatly labeled ‘Montemayor’ on the tab. “Here you go.”

“You should leave a note if you’re away from your desk.”

Lily pointed to her computer screen, which displayed a screen saver scrolling the words ‘Faxing copies, back in ten.’ “I’m sorry you missed it. If that’s all, I need to get this done,” Lily began entering numbers from one of the files into a spreadsheet.

How could Lily just ignore me? Not that I want to talk to her, of course–but she must be jealous of me. Becca returned to her desk and played a few games of Solitaire to calm down.

*   *   *   *   *   *

“Lily Wasn’t There” is a short story I can’t quite get right. I’m hoping the feedback from WeWriWa will help.

Becca’s life hasn’t gone how she planned. Stuck in an accounting job she despises, she scrapes by with a paycheck that doesn’t buy her half of what she deserves. She wants to find a man before she’s thirty, get married, and never work another day in her life. While at work, she people-watches, and one particular coworker is often the focus of her attention–Lily. Lily is everything Becca hates–buttoned-up, bland, and overly dedicated to her job–or so Becca thinks.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

21 responses »

  1. I can see why Becca’s baffled. I’m trying to figure out Lily as well

  2. Llly’s certainly calm and Becca is self delusional but we already knew that LOL. Great 8!

  3. Frank Fisher says:

    Well, I’d act this way if someone was snopping at my desk. I agree with Veronica; Becca is self delusional, but I like that in a character. Interesting 8!

  4. What a contrast in personalities! Lily’s calmness contrasted to Becca’s insecurity and anxiety. I really want to hear more of Lily’s story! 🙂

    • caitlinstern says:

      Lily’s story gets told through the filter of Becca–in bits and pieces.

      Like I say in my summary, I decided to try something a little different–and way more challenging than I expected.

  5. J.A. says:

    Finding someone looking around your desk? Yeah, I’d have trouble, too. Lily’s story is intriguing and I want to know more. Great use of the 8!

  6. Sarah Cass says:

    I’m definitely intrigued by Lily’s behavior…as well as Becca’s. Can’t wait to read more.

  7. Interesting set up. They seem like complex characters. 🙂

  8. burnsmillie says:

    Lily appears to be a class act…I guess time will tell, huh Caitlin? We all have a pretty good picture of Becca…

  9. Evelyn Jules says:

    I feel like we learn something new about these two characters every week. That’s why I keep coming back for more! Great 8! 🙂

  10. Learning new things about Becca every Sunday! She is a fascinating anti-heroine. I like to play games to calm down at work too…mine is Criminal Case on FB 😛 Enjoyed your 8!

  11. That’s so Becca! Of course she is jealous, lol.

What are your thoughts?

