Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesbookcase

September 10: Top Ten Books I Would Love To See As A Movie/TV Show

enchantment

Enchantment Emporium; Tanya Huff. I would love to see the Gale women on the screen–a little crazy at times, but magical, and smart. And the Emporium would look spectacular on screen.

fire rose

The Fire Rose; Mercedes Lackey. I love many of the characters in these series, and the elementals are pretty nifty. Might as well start at the beginning.

good omens

Good Omens; Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman. (I found that this is in development, but nothing concrete.) What’s better than the end of the world, childhood dreams, and some very confused Satanists?

heart of stone

Heart of Stone; C.E. Murphy. Another book with a lot of characters I’d love to see–fascinating and complex people, like Margrit and Alban, Janx and Dasani.

moon called

Moon Called; Patricia Briggs. Mercy is kick-butt, and better dressed than she gets to be on the book covers. And it’s a nice example of actually scary vampires, dangerous weres, and even more dangerous elves.

rosemary and rue

Rosemary and Rue; Seanan McGuire. Because Toby is spectacular, and so are several other characters–and the world is dark and intriguing.

Shadowland

Shadowland; Meg Cabot. Ghosts and murder and teen angst. This one would have to be either several movies, or a series, because the end must make it to the screen.

Print

Soulless; Gail Carriger. Another fascinating world set up, steampunk, vampires and killer uncontrollable rage-werewolves. And Alexia is the sort of character that you just have to see in all her practical glory.

terrier

Terrier; Tamora Pierce. I admire any character who’s defining trait is stubbornness–the complete and utter inability to let something go.

Written in Red

Written in Red; Anne Bishop. This book was so amazing, it should be everywhere. Everywhere! A crazy different world, and a spectacular mythology. All kinds of fairy-tale creatures, but nothing sweet here.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

8 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    While I’m with you that these could make good movies or tv series, I always dread the transition to film of a favorite book because Hollywood invariably gets it wrong. You’d think there’d be no way to screw up a series as good as The Dresden Files, and yet every single character was so poorly cast, it was a relief when the tv show went away. The soon to be released Vampire Acadamy looks like Glee with Fangs, putting on a show in the barn. The casting is deplorable. I could go on, but I won’t. I just hate to see people making movies who have obviously not even read the books.

    I love several of the series you mention, including, of course, Rosemary & Rue’s Toby Daye (I’m halfway through Chimes at Midnight and still in love with Tybalt, King of Cats), and MercyThompson, which is a terrific world of well-thought out creatures of immense power. A couple of the others you mention are going straight to the TOP of my To Be Read list. I have Emporium on my KIndle, but have not gotten to it, and Soulless as been marked to read forever. The Fire Rose is new to me, but I’m adding it too. Maybe I’ll make a folder on my Kindle just for Caitlin’s Recommendations. That way I can find them more easily when I’m looking for my next read.

    Great post!

    • caitlinstern says:

      Fire Rose is a bit older (’96), with book #9 in the series having come out in June. I adore Mercedes Lackey, she’s one of my favorite authors.

      I hope you don’t read anything just because *I* like it–but I also hope you enjoy what you do read! 🙂

      • Marcia says:

        Don’t worry. I might try something because you liked it, but if it doesn’t do it for me, I might not finish it. Often, I can tell from the sample on amazon. I read the opening to this one and it sounded like something I could get into so I’ve already downloaded it. And Soulless has been on my Amazon Wish List forever, so I downloaded that, too. I’m pretty sure I will like it. And look…I would never have tried Dead Iron if you hadn’t mentioned it, and it turned out to be my very favorite steampunk book, to date. I enjoyed Libriomancer, too, though not quite as much. So I’m always willing to give your recommendations a look.

        I’ve never read Lackey, so it’s time to find out. Oh, I’m getting the Gaiman/Pratchett book, too, but I’m already hooked on them, so I had it on my list. You just gave me the push to go ahead and grab it.

        Yay! Sharing books. The best thing EVER.

        • caitlinstern says:

          I couldn’t agree with you more. Sharing books *is* the best thing EVER.

          I can’t believe you missed out on Lackey! She’s been published since the 80s, and written a whole bunch of books in a variety of universes–and she does plenty of the more classic fantasy you like.

          Happy reading!

          • Marcia says:

            I’ve never been big on pure fantasy (like Tolkien) or science fiction. I’ve always loved scary stuff, but usually more like traditional ghost stories and Poe, plus all the vampires that were around in those days (not many), until Urban Fantasy really came on strong. I read a lot more historical fiction (Michener, Thom, etc) in the “old” days too. And classic love stories (thought not bodice rippers). Urban Fantasy came along finally gave me some new vampires I could enjoy, and then all the other supes moved in, and now I love it all. And I’m learning to love steampunk. But a lot of fantasy or sci-fi writers are still new to me. I’m adding the ones I enjoy, which usually means those with some cross-over. I seldom read fantasy that takes place in other worlds.

            I DID however, always love Ray Bradbury, including his Martian Chronicles. I guess I’m just broadening my selections these days. Finding out what I missed that I probably would have liked, even back then, and exploring new stuff, too. No matter how fast I read, I’m always behind on what I WANT to read. Oh, the dilemma presented when one is RICH with books to be read!

  2. Jessica says:

    You’ve been nominated for the Reader Appreciation award! The link is here:
    http://wp.me/p3O1da-3G

  3. beckireads says:

    Those were some really interesting picks. It hadn’t occured to me to include either Moon Called or Written in Red, but both are brilliant picks.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I would love to see either on the screen, especially Written in Red, which has some truly scary and respectable ‘monsters.’

      They’re not dressed up with glitter and angst–they’re predators, and unapologetic about it.

What are your thoughts?

