nanowrimo 2013

You may have noticed all the fuss about NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) on the blogs recently. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s where writers try to make themselves crazy by writing 50,000 words in one month.

I’m participating for the first time ever. It’s best to make plans before hand. You can’t write your novel until November, but you can outline, etc.

I have a couple of story ideas, but I can’t decide which to use. (And these are working titles, as titles are a terrible, terrible weakness of mine.)

Year of Traveling– A time travel romance, about one year in the life of a woman who jumps uncontrollably to a particular ‘anchor spot.’ I have a time line of each jump all worked out, but it will be a complicated plot to write. I still need to determine what happens in each jump, for one thing, though I have a basic idea of the overall story arc.

Four Feet and a Badge–a urban fantasy, about a shape shifting police officer, who generally becomes the furry half of a police dog team to track down criminals. The criminal, crime, and overall plot have yet to be determined. I have less planned out about this, but it should be an easier plot.

I’m fleshing out outlines for both, trying to decide.

Any opinions?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. JackieP says:

    Either one would be great. I would say pick the one you would enjoy the most. I did NaNo last year and let me assure you. After a month of writing you better love your story or you won’t make it. I did win by the way. If you want a writing buddy look me up, I’ll be JLPhillips on there. Good luck and enjoy, it’s a wonderful occasion!

    • caitlinstern says:

      I love both stories–at least the idea of them–I really want to write the time travel story, but it will be a lot of work. So many stories–and only some many hours to write them! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Marcia says:

    You ROCK, Caitlin. I really wanted to do it this year, but I just have too much on my plate, both work-wise and health-wise to devote myself to it. However, I’m sure glad you are going for it. I’ll be your groupie! Time travel tends to make me crazy, so I lean instantly towards the furry story. I like the premise very much, and think it could be both dramatic and funny. Seeing the police work, etc, from the dog’s point of view would give you a lot of opportunity for clever and amusing dialog. And I think your other plot is complicated enough that you might not want to feel as rushed on that. So, I’d go with Door #2 if I were you, if for no other reason than to make it easier on myself. Door #1 will still be there when you finish.

    However, as JackieP said, if you would enjoy the first one more, that does count for a lot. Only you can make that final decision. Good luck!

    • caitlinstern says:

      I will write a time travel story someday that you’ll like. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      You’re probably right about the ease of writing the story–as easy as writing that much in that much time is.

      • Marcia says:

        I have liked some, but often they make me queasy, all that leaping and shifting. (I wanted to like the Time Traveler’s Wife, but I got lost! I’m not even sure in which decade, either.)

        I can’t speak for you, but I know if I were doing this for the first time, I would want to make it as easy on myself as possible. Just my own personal hang-ups, though.

        Remember last year when I was bugging you to do it, and you weren’t buying it, and now you are doing it, and I’m not up for it. What a difference a year makes! ๐Ÿ™‚

        • caitlinstern says:

          I’m sure I will be shaking my fist at you for talking me into this, especially since you’ve abandoned me to the craziness. ๐Ÿ˜‰

          But I’m so proud of you for what you’ve already accomplished and plan to do, that I won’t blame you too much.

          • Marcia says:

            Awww, that’s so nice, Caitlin! Thank you…and thanks TO you, too. You were a big part of it all, believe me. I have actually started my prologue for the new book today. I’m happy, so far. And I’ve got ideas all over the place. I would do NaNoWriMo with you, but with my schedule for the next two months, I’m not sure how many hours a day I’ll be able to write, and I think it would send me into a spiral of frustration. I swear, I’m going to do it next year, no matter what. I’m going to be farther along with my outline for a new Darcy’s Corner book than I am with this one, and I’ll be ready to go, honest! No, really. I mean it. Probably. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Hi, this will be my 4th NaNoWriMo and I’m a ‘free flow’ writer. The past years I began with an idea and just wrote – the characters just led me along their paths. However, this year I will be writing in a new genre so have made some notes…not sure how it will turn out but hopefully it will be all right.
    It is a cowboy romance.
    Good luck and hook up with me on the NaNo site – MandyB, Edmonton, Canada.

What are your thoughts?

