Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten square

October 15: Top Ten Books I Was Forced to Read (either by teachers, friends, other bloggers, reviews)

No one has every really forced me to read a book. Usually a ‘hey, read this book’ is enough. So I’m just listing books someone reviewed or recommended.

book thief

1. The Book Thief; Markus Zusak.

eleanor park

2. Eleanor & Park; Rainbow Rowell.

The Fault in Our Stars

3. The Fault in Our Stars; John Green.

golem jinni

4. The Golem and the Jinni; Helene Wecker

magicians and mrs quent

5. Magicians and Mrs. Quent; Galen Beckett.

midnight riot

6. Midnight Riot; Peter Grant.

Mr penumbra

7. Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore; Robin Sloan.

replacement

8. The Replacement; Brenna Yovanoff.

saga

9. Saga; Brian K. Vaughan.

sandman

10. The Sandman; Neil Gaiman.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

22 responses »

  1. kelley says:

    great list today, I love John Green and Niel Gaimon kelley—the road goes ever ever on

  2. I need to read Midnight in Paris still!

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    You’ve listed some great books. I liked Eleanor & Park much more than I thought I would!

  4. Kristin says:

    I am a fan of Neil Gaimann…nice to see him on your list.

  5. Great selection! I’m reading The Book Thief Eleanor and Park soon just to know if they really are gonna live up to the hype. 🙂

  6. Buecherphilosophin says:

    A lovely list 🙂 I loved “The Book Thief” and “TFIOS” – both sad and wonderful. I definitely need to read them again soon.

    Cheers, Katarina 🙂

  7. comehometobooks says:

    Oooh, I love THE BOOK THIEF and TFIOS. Great books. I also really like Gaiman, although I haven’t read THE SANDMAN yet.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • caitlinstern says:

      I found Sandman complied into little books at the library–yours might have it that way, too. It’s weird, a little dark, and a bit wandering, but if you like his other work, you should like Sandman.

  8. Jan says:

    A good list of books! I really like Midnight Riot.

  9. Jorie says:

    Thanks for stopping by Jorie’s Read’s by Starry Night Elf yesterday!. I totally agree with you about Fahrenheit 451 and Anthem. In fact, I’m reading The Fountainhead right now… I’ve been meaning to read both The Book Thief and The Fault of Our Stars” but haven’t made the time yet.

    • caitlinstern says:

      So many books, so little time…

      I haven’t read The Fountainhead, though I did wade through Atlas Shrugged. Upon finally finishing, I decided Rand is better in small doses.

      The Book Thief and TFioS are both excellent (and shorter! 🙂 ) but a little sad in places. Hope you enjoy them.

  10. I absolutely loved The Book Thief and The Fault In Our Stars! Such great books. I’ve heard that Neil Gaimans books are really good but still haven’t found the time to read one. I’ve heard wonderful things about Eleanor & Park and I am really excited to read that one. My TTT

What are your thoughts?

