Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday2

October 22: Top Ten Character Names I Love or Top Ten Unusual Character Names

Harry Potter

1. Bellatrix Lestrange. Harry Potter; J.K. Rowling. There’s a lot of really good names in this series, but this is one I especially like. She might not be a nice person, but her name just rolls off the tongue.

abarat

2. Candy Quackenbush. Abarat; Clive Barker. All the other really odd names belong to the Abarat–but Candy is from our world, which makes her odd name seem odder.

graceling

3. Greening Grandemalion. Graceling; Kristin Cashore. Nobody calls Po this, which makes sense since it’s such a mouthful, but it’s still an interesting name.

hunger games

4. Katniss Everdeen. The Hunger Games; Suzanne Collins. There’s a bunch of cool names in this book, but I like the ‘catnip’ confusion.

god bless you mr rosewater

5. Kilgore Trout. Kurt Vonnegut. Trout appears in several books, more than some other repeating characters. And that’s quite a name.

wyrd sisters

6. Magrat Garlick. Discworld; Terry Pratchett. Poor Magrat’s name is due to a misspelling, leading to her daughter being named Esmerelda Margaret Note Spelling.

rosemary and rue

7. October “Toby” Daye. Seanan McGuire. It’s just a nifty name–not too weird, but still special–and her nickname is pretty cool, too.

life of pi

8. Piscine Molitor Patel. Life of Pi; Yann Martel. Being names after a pool is an interesting story, even with the unfortunate nickname his classmates gave him. And Pi is definitely a cool nickname.

rosencrantz and guilderstern are dead

9. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern. Shakespeare. But really, these names makes me think of Tom Stoppard’s play, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead.

hitchhiker's guide

10. Zaphod Beeblebrox. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy; Douglas Adams. Another series with great names, but this name is particularly hip. Slartibartfast is another good one.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

14 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Some great names there, Caitlin. I’m glad you included a Terry Pratchett name, too. He’s the BEST. I’m very fond of the names he’s given his Nac Mac Feegles, the Wee Free Men. You can’t help but laugh at Rob Anybody, Daft Wullie, and my personal favorite, No’-as-big-as-Medium-Sized-Jock-but-bigger-than-Wee-Jock-Jock. (Aren’t you glad you don’t have to go to the door each night and call HIM inside for dinner?)

    • caitlinstern says:

      Yes, especially since they’re not allowed nicknames, because then how would you tell them apart? It’s part of their charm that no one thought of branching out into more names.

  2. lynnsbooks says:

    Hah, Zaphod – such an excellent name! Wish I’d remembered him. Plus in the same book wasn’t there a depressed android called Marvin?
    Lynn 😀

  3. I really like October! It’s different without being too strange and Toby’s a great nickname for her.

    Bellatrix has always been a favourite of mine, I can’t believe I forgot it. Awesome list!

  4. MidnightPageTurners says:

    Bellatrix Lestrange, another great name from HP, thanks for commenting on my top ten character names by the way!

  5. Ah, I can’t believe I left out Bellatrix! I agree, even though she’s evil, I think she has a pretty nice name, though I have to admit that it would be strange if I met someone with a name like her’s. I also like Katniss, but I prefer her sister’s name better. I don’t know, I guess it sounds more… approachable and friendlier? Then again, I know how Katniss is like, so maybe I’m just biased.

    As for the rest, I haven’t read them yet, but I always love names after months. Like June, and in this case, October.

    Great list!

  6. Jan says:

    You have a great list of unusual names! I really like Candy Quackenbush–makes me laugh. When I hear Rosencrantz and Guildenstern I think of the Tom Stoppard play, too.

  7. Melinda says:

    I agree with Katniss!

What are your thoughts?

