Venus, Venice, Victor

What do you do for Halloween? It’s not a holiday I really celebrate any more. As a kid, I dressed up and went trick or treating. I think I wore pretty standard costumes. Definitely a witch one time. (And three of my friends attached themselves to each other as a caterpillar. That was awkward and amusing to watch.)

And I’ve dressed up and went to a few parties as an adult, but… Have you noticed the sad trend in women’s costumes?

Because I sure have observed a raising of hemlines and lowering of necklines. Leaving aside whether or not you want to show that much skin–It’s October, people! Do you want us to freeze?

So if I dress up, I have to put something together–that last I can recall, I was Inigo Montoya with a ‘Hello My Name Is’ sticker. Another fun choice I have in mind for the future might be Arthur Dent from H2G2.

Either way, there’s still candy. 🙂

Do you dress up for Halloween? What do you dress up as?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

  1. Sadly we don’t really do Halloween here in the UK but it sounds like a lot of fun – at least the way it’s portrayed on TV 😉 I don’t think I’d get dressed up either to be honest. I think it’s probably the most fun when you’re a kid and you can go trick or treating.

    Cheers, Kat 🙂

What are your thoughts?

