Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten sunset

November 5: Top Ten Sequels I Can’t Wait To Get My Hands On

How do I pick only ten? 🙂 Some of these are already out, some of them aren’t. But none of them are mine… yet.

autumn bones

1. Autumn Bones; Jacqueline Carey. Policework and demons make for difficult jobs.

copperhead

2. Copperhead; Tina Connolly. Fey markings, magical face replacements, and iron masks–I must know how this ends.

curtsies

3. Curtsies & Conspiracies; Gail Carriger. Steampunk spy school, and a kick-butt heroine.

half off ragnarok

4. Half-off Ragnarok; Seanan McGuire. Protecting the incryptids from humanity and vice versa is important–but also funny sometimes.

horde

5. Horde; Anne Aguirre. Post-apocalyptic warriors/hunters. Fighting for survival isn’t fun, but it has to be done.

iron kin

6. Iron Kin; M.J. Scott. Fae, human mages, vampires, and shifters trying to co-exist. Trying.

murder of crows

7. Murder of Crows; Anne Bishop. I need this book. Now. Vampires and blood mages and bad humans.

two serpents

8. Two Serpents Rise; Max Gladstone. Demons, and magic-users, and some bad magic.

whatnot

9. The Whatnot; Stefan Bachmann. Steampunk and fairies and changelings. And pretty wind-up birds.

world after

10. World After; Susan Ee. I have this pre-ordered. Angels and apocalypses and crazy demon-kids.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

18 responses »

  1. lipsyy says:

    The Kin books looks great! I’ve just added the first one to my wishlist 🙂

  2. nikihawkes says:

    I like your picks – there are several that I really want to read but haven’t made time for yet, especially the Jacqueline Carey series.

  3. Eugine says:

    Oooh, I love me some Gail Carriger! 🙂 I haven’t read Etiquette & Espionage yet, though. What are your thoughts about it?

    • caitlinstern says:

      It’s about a fourteen-year-old girl who’s a bit of a trial to her mom, and gets packed off to Finishing school–only it’s a spy school, too.

      If you liked the characters and style of the Soulless series, you’ll like these, too. The heroine is strong, funny, and interesting, and the supporting cast is unique. It’s the same world, 25 years earlier. So there’s a little more ‘newness’ to the vampire & werewolf thing.

  4. Maureen Eichner says:

    I really liked The Whatnot! Bachmann has such a strong, wonderful style, especially for someone as young as he is!

  5. OOh all of these look great! I can’t wait to read the Hoard since I just borrowed Outpost from the library.
    Come see my TTT post 🙂

    Kimberly @ Turning the Pages

    • caitlinstern says:

      Isn’t it nice when you have a few books in a series, waiting for you? I try to tell myself to ration them, but I usually end up devouring them and then waiting impatiently.

  6. JenFlem says:

    Etiquette & Espionage sounds interesting.

  7. Jay says:

    Well, I feel out of touch since I’m not familiar with any of these. :-(. Curtsies and Conspiracies sounds intriguing, though, as I’m starting to get into Steampunk a little. Marking it as a TBR on goodreads! 🙂

    Happy reading!

    -Jay

    • caitlinstern says:

      It’s book two, so you’ll want to read one–Etiquette and Espionage, first. It’s a cute, fun book, the lighter side of Steampunk, a genre I adore.

      You could also try China Mieville for some weird steampunk, Cherie Priest for some darker steampunk (with zombies!), or Chris Wooding for some pirate-y steampunk.

What are your thoughts?

