Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday3

November 26: Top Ten Things I Am Thankful For.

SAMSUNG

1. Bookmarks. I know, I talk about bookmarks slightly more than is normal. But I hate it when people bend, fold, or otherwise mutilate books. And I hate when I have to lay one flat or stick not-a-bookmark in a book. I also hate losing my place, so little pieces of paper do sometimes find themselves pressed into use.

Image from WikiMedia by MarkBuckawicki

Image from WikiMedia by MarkBuckawicki

2. Bookstores. Places where you can buy books. What more could you possibly want? Other than someplace that will give you books, but let’s be realistic. They’re wonderful to browse, or leave staggering under the weight of your purchases.

Book cat

3. Cats. Owning a pet comes with its shares of annoyances and sorrows, but they can also be quite wonderful. (Especially when they’re not underfoot trying to murder you in the middle of the night.) They make excellent lap warmers while you read or write, or to curl up with on a cold day.

800px-Becher_Kakao_mit_Sahnehäubchen

Image from WikiMedia by 4028mdk09

4. Cocoa. When the weather dips below 60, I start to hate going outside. I’m one of those people you see hilariously bundled up, huddled and shivering. I simply can’t handle the cold. Hot chocolate makes it just a little bit more bearable. Especially raspberry cocoa.

kindle pic

5. E-books/E-readers. While I still love the feel of a printed book–the texture and sound of the pages turning under your finger, the smell of a room full of books, the heft, the gloss of a cover… Ebooks are a wonderful space and money and time saver. And we all have a shortage of those things.

6. Family. Sometimes you drive them crazy, sometimes they drive you crazy. But as long as you put the ‘fun’ in ‘dysfunctional,’ you know you’ll be okay.

7. Friends. I’m not one of those collect-’em-all kinds of people, but I have some very good friends that are always willing to help out, or just hang out. Many of them don’t live as close as I’d like, but that’s life. (Where’s our teleportation machines, scientists?)

goodreads

8. Goodreads. This website has changed my reading habits in a lot of big ways–not always for the good, as it has led me into temptation more often than not. (Oh, no, these books are due soon. Read faster! Faster!)

Image from WikiMedia by Peter Halasz

Image from WikiMedia by Peter Halasz

9. Public Libraries. I couldn’t read half as many books as I do without the library. They have so many tools to get the newest and most interesting books, and I use them all. Whether I could do something more productive with that time, who knows.

Image from WikiMedia by Nukkus.

Image from WikiMedia by Nukkus.

10. Pumpkin Pie. Some foods just seem seasonal, whether or not you can get them year-round. Pumpkin pie is one of those things, with whipped cream carefully applied in little stars, covering the whole top of the pie slice except the crust. This is the food that says ‘fall’ to me, and Thanksgiving, too.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

