2013-Winner-Vertical-Banner

And now we are done! (As of tonight, of course. You still have several hours to type as fast as humanly possible, if you need them.)

Overall, I did okay. I started on track, slowly pulled ahead, and then fell behind on my daily word count, but by that point I had enough padding to still make my goal. Ah, how that little diagonal line mocks you! I had to go back to the beginning twice, beefing up my scenes instead of writing for conciseness, which I sometimes get carried away with.

As I write this, Friday night, I have ‘won,’ with about 51,500 words. I have ten pages left to go over, and then I’ll take a stab at writing the final scenes that I struggled with previously. I want to see how far I can get before time is up, since 50,000 words is really only the beginning of a book.

Did you make it, fellow writers?

Even if you didn’t finish, let’s take a moment to celebrate what you did achieve. You wrote stuff, go you! πŸ™‚

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

7 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Yay! You did it! I’m so proud of you. You are way ahead of me, btw. I’ve managed, in spite of a month of constant interruptions, to write 30,000 words on Swamp Ghosts. That makes me feel pretty good, so I can only imagine how great it must feel to have written over 51,000. You ROCK!!

    BTW, I have the proof of my print version of Wake-Robin Ridge winging its way toward me, even as I type. It should be here any day. VERY exciting! Soon, this will be YOU, with your newly finished novel going up on amazon for the world to read.

    Another big yay. You’ve earned at least two! πŸ™‚

    • caitlinstern says:

      Thanks! πŸ™‚ I’m pretty amazed I did it myself. There were some days I didn’t think I would make it.

      A print version of WRR? That is exciting indeed. πŸ˜€

      • Marcia says:

        I always knew you could do it. And now, YOU know that, too! πŸ˜‰

        Yep, WRR in print. I’m thrilled. And you, too, can have your own autographed copy for your bookshelves. You can build a SHRINE to it, hahaha. (That’s what I’M going to do! πŸ˜† )

  2. Congratulations!!!! I myself didn’t win, but I’m very proud of you for doing so πŸ™‚ Happy writing/re-writing/editing πŸ™‚

  3. Sarah W says:

    Hooray, Caitlin! Congratulations!

What are your thoughts?

