Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten square

December 10: Top Ten Books On My Winter TBR

Bastards and knives

1. The Bastards and the Knives; Scott Lynch. Locke and Jean are so special–lovable rogues who sometimes struggle to stay alive when their clever plans go awry. I’ll be happy to read a few short stories about them.

black dog

2. Black Dog; Rachel Neumeier. A story about a different kind of werewolf, which I found on a blog, and seems interesting. All about responsibility, and magic, a coming of age story.

board stiff

3. Board Stiff; Piers Anthony. Be careful what you wish for… especially in Xanth, where wishes can have funny consequences. The heroine of this story wishes for adventure, because she’s ‘bored stiff.’

fire

4. Fire; Kristin Cashore. I’m a little behind on this bandwagon, but I read Graceling, and I’m excited for Fire, and then Bitterblue. The Graces are so interesting, a nice double-edged sword of power and fear.

monster on the hill

5. Monster on the Hill; Rob Harrell. Every town has a monster that terrorizes it, and they’re proud of it for the tourists the monster brings. Except one little town, whose monster isn’t scary at all… Sounds hilarious, a definite must read.

raising steam

6. Raising Steam; Terry Pratchett. I’ll read anything by Pratchett. And unfortunately names Moist Von Lipwig is one of my favorites, poor pressured con man that he is. Steam power comes to Discworld? Yes, please!

ruins

7. Ruins; Dan Wells. How will the Partials do? Will they learn to get along with the humans, and vice versa? I must know.

S

8. S.; J.J. Abrams, Doug Dorst. A book about readers and reading, a shared book,

SayWhat_jkt DES1.indd

9. Say What You Will; Cammie McGovern. Saw this book on another TTT–it spoke to me. It said I’ll be funny, and sweet, and sad. Read me!

when its a jar

10. When It’s A Jar; Tom Holt. Holt’s books always make me laugh. And any book description that starts with someone killing a dragon with a bread knife has got to be a good one.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. MidnightPageTurners says:

    When It’s a Jar looks intriguing… and kind of gross but almost in an appealing kind of way, like I want to know what the hecks on that spoon!
    I’m so unreliable I just did my TTT today 🙂
    Happy Reading and hope you get all of them done!

What are your thoughts?

