pride-prejudice-bicentenary-challenge-2013-x-200

My December book for the Pride & Prejudice Bicentenary Challenge:

pride and prejudice

Pride & Prejudice; Jane Austen.

I saved the original for last. When did you first read this book?

I can’t recall when I did, exactly, but the first time I remember is shortly before the 2005 movie release, when I read the book before I saw it in theaters. And I fell in love with the book (or possibly over again). Who wouldn’t love Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth?

They’re just flawed enough to be real, but not so flawed to be unlikable. Yes, Mr. Darcy is proud–but he’s wealthy and a much-chased-after potential husband. It’s a truth that every marriageable girl (and her family) are counting his money, his land, and his station with avarice in their hearts.

And yes, Lizzy is prejudiced–she likes to label people, mostly so she can laugh at them. Her family is living beyond their means, and many of her family members have very public flaws that their air without shame.

So it’s not surprising that these two strong-willed people clash, and misunderstand each other. It’s fun to watch them striking sparks off each other, and finally coming to an understanding.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

