Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday2

December 17: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

sweetness pie

1. Bradley, Alan. Flavia de Luce series. Precocious scientist, solver of murders, and smart-aleck. I love Flavia.

hyperbole half

2. Brosh, Allie. Hyperbole and a Half. Have to love someone who deals with life’s problems with humor. Warning, swearing happens a lot in these pages.

graceling

3. Cashore. Kristin. Graceling Realm. People with special powers and nifty colored eyes fighting for their independence.

dog days

4. Levitt, John. Dog Days. Wizards with not-quite-dog familiars trying to save the world.

god save queen

5. Locke, Kate. Immortal Empire. I have a fondness for steampunk vampires. Bless her Immortal Majesty!

Dead Spot

6. Olson, Melissa F. Scarlett Bernard. It’s not easy being a walking magic-canceler, but she does her best.

anna french kiss

7. Perkins, Stephanie. Anna and the French Kiss. Sweet cute romance serious, perfect for some light reading.

dont kill messenger

8. Rendahl, Eileen. Messenger. Trying to carry messages between all the supernatural beings in the city is a dangerous business.

shadow kin

9. Scott, M.J. The Half-Light City. Vampires and werewolves and humans in an uneasy truce. Always fun.

reboot

10. Tintera, Amy. Reboot. Resurrected soldiers, kicking butt and then rebelling.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

13 responses »

  1. MidnightPageTurners says:

    Really want to read Anna and the french kiss, also The promise of amazing, have you heard of it? Love the over of both the books

  2. Marcia says:

    Wow, I’ve only read two of these, and try as I might, I wasn’t blown away by either. They were okay, and I might try a 2nd book in the series, but neither delivered what I was hoping for. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie had me with the title, and Flavia had such potential, but somehow I never engaged with her. And Dog Days…well, I think it was the plot that didn’t work for me. I did like the dog quite a bit. 🙂 Maybe I need to give them another shot.

    As for the rest, you have piqued my interest with Don’t Kill The Messenger & Half-Light City. Going to go add those to my Wish List right now. Thanks!

    • caitlinstern says:

      Hey, everyone likes something different–we all relate to characters based on so many complicated facets of ourselves, after all.

      Let me know what you think of them!

      • Marcia says:

        That’s true, but sometimes I need a second book before I’m really hooked on a character. If I just feel MEH about the first one, or I think there’s potential, even if I don’t believe it was realized, I’ll give a series another chance, and I’m often rewarded for sticking to it. I didn’t actively dislike either of these books, exactly, so I’m willing to try another. I might wait for a good sale, though. 🙂 I’ve already marked the other two series. I’m especially interested in the Don’t Kill The Messenger one. And it got pretty solid reviews, too. I’ll let you know about those, and also if I try Book 2 of two I wasn’t totally sold on.

        Was it you who felt totally differently than I did about the selkie in the October Daye series? (See, I’ve tried to erase his name from my mind, I hated him so much. Hahaha.) But we do all connect…or not…based on our own perceptions and experiences. That’s why three’s chocolate, vanilla, and strawberry in the ice cream freezer…something for everyone. 😀

  3. Jan says:

    You have some of my favorite authors on your list! My daughter and I discovered Alan Bradley several years ago. We both really enjoy his books.

    I haven’t read Hyperbole and a Half yet, but I keep seeing it on different lists in the last several months. I also remember it because she lives in the town I grew up in!

    Great list!

  4. Love Graceling, and Kate Locke in her various writer guises 🙂 Dead Spots is now on my TBR list 🙂

What are your thoughts?

