Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten sunset

December 31: Top Ten Books I Read In 2013 (overall or you can pick a specific genre if overall is too hard)

This post is similar to the Top Ten Best So Far post… but at least a little different. I’m stingy with five star ratings–out of the 455 books I read this year, only 27 got five stars.

angelfall

1. Angelfall; Susan Ee. An angel apocalypse, a young girl struggling to keep her disabled sister and unbalanced mother alive and together–and some truly scary angels. And there’s a sequel out that I have’t read yet!

charitable getting

2. Charitable Getting; Sam Starbuck. (This book is free online) About a charity consultant firm, people trying to do good, struggling against a difficult job, and interacting like an insane, lovable family. Any book that makes me giggle to myself several times is a good one.

Chimes midnight

3. Chimes at Midnight; Seanan McGuire. Book #7. I just love this magic and fey mixed up world, and the characters in it–part-fey Toby, who drags herself forward when a sane person would quit, King of Cats Tybalt, witty and hard to define, and a host of fey, human, or mixed people trying to navigate a crazy dangerous world.

eight million gods

4. Eight Million Gods; Wen Spencer. Ordinary people getting caught up in magic are so much fun to read about. Reading about a writer in that situation–perfect.

œF$¿Æ‘$8Òò¤»däå¸R8BI

5. Fortune’s Pawn; Rachel Bach. As you watch a character who’s so determined to succeed they might kill themselves, you want them to step back, but also to keep going. Devi the mercenary’s crazy ambitions make for fun reading, and there’s some fascinating secrets to be unveiled in the books to come, I think.

indexing

6. Indexing; Seanan McGuire. Real-life fairy tales, and characters fighting their story? Yes! All the original tales are dark, and I like the idea of an organization fighting to stop them from happening.

republic of thieves

7. Republic of Thieves; Scott Lynch. Book #3. I adore a rogue main character, and a thief with fierce loyalty to his friends, and morals fits that bill nicely. He over-complicates his plots, which ends in hilarious failures while he scrambles to steal profit and victory from the ashes.

rithmatist

8. The Rithmatist; Brandon Sanderson. Special people who can make chalk figures come to life–and a place where these figures in the wild will attack and kill people–is something I’ve never seen before. And there’s so many hints of a big picture that I have to know more.

Silvered

9. The Silvered; Tanya Huff. A werewolf empire besieged, and fighting for survival alongside mages. The world is fascinating, the heroine my favorite kind of determined, under-powered, and imperfect.

Written in Red

10. Written in Red; Anne Bishop. Truly killer werewolves, vampires, etc.–dangerous creatures that bargain with humanity, and kill whenever they’re angered. And one, lonely girl who can see the future when her skin is cut. A fascinating story that makes me want more. Now!

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

5 responses »

  1. Anne says:

    Wow, 455 books?! I wish I had the time. Fortune’s Pawn looks interesting – I think I’ll have to pick it up. Especially because the description on Goodreads described the MC as Starbuck meets Ripley.

  2. MidnightPageTurners says:

    Oh AngelFall, another book i need to read this year. I’m going to try to be really organised and tackle my TBR list properly in 2014. Fingers crossed I manage it!

What are your thoughts?

