Saw this TBR Pile challenge (from Roof Beam Reader) at Tasseled Book Blog, and thought–why not? I have a small stack of books I’ve purchased, waiting unread on a bookshelf. My holiday gifts put that stack over the edge of what will fit in the space, so I need to read at least some of these books.

2014tbrbutton

The Rules: Read 12 books that have been on your TBR list for AT LEAST a year (which means it must be published in 2012 or earlier) and review them, with two alternates for just in case.

I’m guessing with some of these books, as my longest-standing TBR list was on a cell phone that died. But they’re all published early enough, and have been on my lists for a while.

My list:

1. Dealing with Dragons; Patricia Wrede. (2002)

2. Dreams Underfoot; Charles De Lint. (2003)

3. Garden Spells; Sarah Addison Allen (2007)

4. The Half You Don’t Know; Peter Cameron. (1997)

5. Me Talk Pretty One Day; David Sedaris. (2001).

6. Middlesex; Jeffrey Eugenides. (2002)

7. Monster; A. Lee Martinez. (2009)

8. My Lobotomy; Howard Dully. (2007)

9. The Looking Glass Wars; Frank Beddor (2006)

10. Paper Towns; John Green. (2008)

11. The Sputnik Sweetheart; Haruki Murakami. (1999)

12. The Unhandsome Prince; John Moore. (2005)

Alternates:

The Epicure’s Lament; Kate Christensen. (2005)

The Immortality Engine; George Mann. (2011)

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    May I suggest starting with Garden Spells? It’s a quick, easy read that will lift you up for the start of the new year, and leave you feeling all warm and happy inside. And it’s magic! Hello…spells!

    😀

    • caitlinstern says:

      Less than half these books are actually sitting on a shelf. That one has been on a ‘check out from the library’ list forever–since you recommended it–but I think I’ll start with one of the ones I actually own. 🙂

      But I’ll check it out for February!

  2. beckireads says:

    Good luck!! I am contemplating joining you as my tbr pile has just exploded over the last couple of months or so.

    • caitlinstern says:

      If you have books that have been languishing on your pile for a year or more, I say do it! It’ll free up some space for those new ones. 🙂

      And if you don’t finish all 12, you’ve still made progress!

  3. MidnightPageTurners says:

    I’ve posted a while 2014 TBR list, although I doubt I’ll manage to read all of them I certainly hope Paper Towns is one I do get round to. I think I’ll hvae to try something like this, to get the books I’ve been meaning to read waaay to long out of the way. Great post and happy reading 🙂

  4. Pogue says:

    I love Dreams Under Foot, but I think deLint is an amazing author.

What are your thoughts?

