Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesbookcase

January 7 2014: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2014 (bookish, not bookish or a blend)

Bookish:

Library books

1. Be more moderate in the number of library book check outs. Often I end up more books than days to read them, and this cuts into my other-book reading time drastically.

TBR Jan 14

2. Read all of the stack of unread books (currently) sitting on my bookshelves. To this end, I have joined a TBR pile challenge that will account for 5 of the 11. It was 15 last August, and I read 8, but then I added more. This is a never-ending process.

IMG_2103

3. Make progress on my Kindle backlog. I’m not getting through all 65 of these, as the free eBooks have tempted me too much. (And continue to do so.) But I need to start reading them.

Bookshelf

4. Actually pare down my bookshelves. I have books somewhere in there I’ve read once and will never read again. They need to go. Where I’ll find the time, I don’t know, but I will! (Anyone have a time turner?)

Writing:

SAMSUNG

5. Write every day. (Not blogging or editing, though I will count books, short stories, or poetry.)

IMG_0278

6. Write more in notebooks. People give these to me, and I buy them for myself, and I use them very slowly. Their number is heading towards the ridiculous.

7. Start submitting manuscripts again. I did this for a bit, dropped it, and haven’t picked it up again. You get nowhere if you don’t try…

Life:

8. Spend more time with my family. It’s funny how you can get busy, and they can get busy, and a whole year can slip by with only phone calls and emails. 

If Babar on my book bag can exercise, so can I.

If Babar on my book bag can exercise, so can I.

9. Exercise. This is a common resolution, I think, because most of us should do it more, and many of us hate it.

Image from WikiMedia by AlbertHerring

Image from WikiMedia by AlbertHerring

10. Walk dogs at the shelter. I haven’t for a while, and in part it’s the weather, but as soon as it’s tolerable out there, I need to start again. Dogs need love, too, not just the (AC/heated building housed) cats.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

9 responses »

  1. Ardo Omer says:

    Basically everything on your list is something I need to do 🙂 Good luck with 2014!

    • caitlinstern says:

      I think moderating reading, and/or finishing TBR piles made it to nearly everyone’s lists. As does exercise, write more, and spend more time with family.

      It all comes down to what we have time for, doesn’t it? Good luck to you, too! 🙂

  2. Marcia says:

    Hey, you can combine #9 and #10 into one, and thereby reduce your resolutions to a mere 9 impossible tasks. *grin* See how helpful I am? Seriously, these are all good resolutions, Caitlin. Print them out and tape them somewhere you will see them every day. Work on at least one of them each day, and before long, you will have made some serious progress on them. Or break it into quarters, as I’m doing this year. Pick 3 resolutions to work hard on for the first quarter of the year, then 3 more for the next quarter, etc. Things are always easier to swallow one bite at a time.

    I have my first deadline date set for 3/17, and I have a list of three or four things I want to have completed or made good progress on by then. The next deadline is June 17, and I have a few other items to work on in that chunk of time. It seems less daunting to me that way.

    • caitlinstern says:

      It is Top 10, not Top 9. 😉 Some of these are bigger than others, I admit.

      But I have made a little calendar with a key of the 4 things I plan on doing often–so far I haven’t missed a day of writing–and we’ll see how it goes.

      As for the more long term goals, I will think about dividing them up. Sounds like a good idea!

  3. You sound a lot like me! I check out more books than I should and never erad my whoel stack. I also buy books all the time, and have probably only read 10% of the books I actually own, if that. I also have tons or notebooks and journals, all for different things and same things and rewriting same things and ideas for things, etc etc.These are definitely some great goals! Hope you do well with your resolutions and thanks for stopping by 🙂

    • caitlinstern says:

      I have a slight journal addiction. They’re so pretty! Covered in linen, or leather, or with pretty pictures…. I use one at a time, mostly, which is why I’m so slow.

      I should start using two, that would help! 🙂

      • Definitely! I just got a new journal for Christmas to go with the 40 I already have, ha! I even have one I share with my mom. We write each other back and forth when I’m feeling troubled. I have never been very good at voicing things; I’m a bottler, so writing it down really helps when I am stressed!

  4. MidnightPageTurners says:

    I definitely am going to tackle my TBR pile this year and I have the same problem with notebooks, they’re just so pretty but so hard to fill up!

    • caitlinstern says:

      I know! I got three for Christmas, and then went and bought one just a few days ago. It had owls on it, adorable little owls on the cover and dotting the inside pages…

      I’m hopeless.

What are your thoughts?

